After the summer drama of the financial guarantee for the Israeli hosting and while still awaiting for the host city to be determined, lets take a look at the map of countries that have one way or another confirmed their participation in the 64th edition of the Eurovision Song Contest in Israel.


Next year the number of participating countries in next year’s Eurovision Song contest is expected to be around 40 . Having the limit of 46 countries allowed to take part, the number of countries to attend will be pretty much the same with the one in the latest years.

Two semi finals with a total of 10 nations qualifying from each one, which will join the Big 5 and the host country in the Grand final of  26 competing countries.

Up to date the countries that have confirmed their participation in the next edition or have expressed provisional interest in participating, have reached the number of 14. As the EBU deadline for submitting application is approaching (September 15), more countries are expected to confirm their participation. According to EBU rules the countries have to apply preliminary until the date above and have a period up to October 10 to withdraw their application without any financial penalty.

Countries ruling out a 2019 participation

Already six countries have clearly ruled out a participation in Israel. Countries as Andorra, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Monaco,  Bosnia & Herzegovina and Turkey have all confirmed that they will not return to the competition in 2019, alongside with Morocco which has shown no intention of returning after since its debut appearance back in 1980.

The cases of Kosovo, Kazakhastan and Liechtenstein

Ongoing numerous discussions and arguments have aroused concerning a potential participation of national broadcasters coming from these three regions, especially the first two. Lets take a separate look to what exactly the facts are:

Kosovo: The local national broadcaster RTK is not an EBU member and at the moment can’t join the Union, as it’s not even a member of ITU (International Television Union) which is a crucial condition for EBU membership. Further more the country isn’t a member of the  United Nations or the Council of Europe, making things even more difficult for an EBU membership. Due to all these facts the country can’ t participate in the Eurovision Song Contest. However the The Eurovision Song Contest has been broadcast live in the country latest years and the national broadcaster was present at the the 80th EBU General Assembly in Tirana, where initial discussions were held on a future EBU membership.

Kazakhstan: The country is only an associate EBU member since 2016, so has the right to participate in the Eurovision Song Contest only after an invitation by EBU to join the event, pretty much as Australia is doing in the latest years. However, the contest has been aired the last years and Kazakhstan will be making its debut appearance in Junior Eurovision 2018 next November in Minsk, a development that may be an indication of a potential participation in the Eurovision Song Contest too.

Liechtenstein: Despite the fact that the small country has expressed several times the latest years interest in joining the Eurovision family ,  1FL TV , the local broadcaster has failed to fulfill EBU conditions , mostly due to financial obstacles. Since no application to EBU has been confirmed Lichtenstein is not a EBU member, so not eligible to participate in the contest.

What About the Aussies

An Australian participation in the next edition of Eurovision is more than likely to take place. As the national broadcaster, SBS, is an associated EBU member, its participation depends on an invitation by EBU and the hosting country  to join next year’s event. However, SBS officials have already expressed their intention of broadcasting the contest as every year and we have no indications from no side that the invitation won’t take place and  not secure the Aussies’  appearance in the contest for a fifth consecutive year.

Australia was invited to join for the first time in Vienna back in 2015 and since then has achieved already 3 top 10 placings the four years of participation.

Latest confirmations

As EBU deadline for preliminary applications is approaching more countries are expected progressively to confirm their participation. Latest countries to confirm their presence in Israel are Serbia, Lithuania, Denmark and with most remarkable that of Ireland’s. The initial voices rising within the country, calling for a boycott of the next edition of the contest coming from domestic groups of people and some political representatives didn’t seem strong enough to prevent the seven times winner Ireland from another ESC participation. The Irish broadcaster RTÉ has revealed their autumn and 2019 program schedule including in that the country’s participation in Eurovision 2019. Ireland’s participation will be the 53rd time since their debut in 1965.


Taking in consideration all the above facts the number of countries that have officially confirmed participation in Eurovision 2019 adds up to the number 14, while another set of 8 countries have shown provisional interest but haven’t officially confirmed yet. So the list so far has as following:


  •  Belgium
  •  Cyprus
  •  Denmark
  •  France
  •  Germany
  •  Ireland
  •  Israel
  •  Latvia
  •  Lithuania
  •  Malta
  •  Norway
  •  Serbia
  •  Sweden
  •   Switzerland

The  countries that have indicated through unofficial sources or actions interest in evolving their national selection process and participating are:

  •  Croatia
  •  Bulgaria
  •  Czech Republic
  •  Estonia
  •  Finland
  •  Poland
  •  San Marino
  •  Spain
  •  Ukraine

The following countries participated in 2018, but have not yet made any official announcement regarding their participation in 2019.

  •  Albania
  •  Armenia
  •  Azerbaijan
  •  Belarus
  •  Georgia
  •  Greece
  •  Hungary
  •  Iceland
  •  Italy
  •  Macedonia
  •  Moldova
  •  Montenegro
  •  Netherlands
  •  Portugal
  •  Romania
  •  Russia
  •  Slovenia
  •  United Kingdom

As previously announced , by September the Israeli broadcaster, KAN , is expected to reveal the exact dates of the next Eurovision Song Contest to be held and the host city. Israel won the right to host the 64th edition of  Eurovision Song Contest after Netta’s victory in Lisbon with her song Toy