37 countries to compete for the Grand Prix

37 countries to compete for the Grand Prix

This week Slovenia said finally: “Yes, I do” to Eurovision 2014, so the total numbers of countries gathering in Copenhaguen to fight for the Grand Prix will be 37.

A rather low number, compared for example with the 2007 edition, which had 42 participants and only one semifinal. This year, only 31 countries will compete in the semifinals, which means that the first semifinal will have 16 countries and the second only 15. The good news is that 2/3 of the competing countries will make it to the final, because only 11 counties will be left out of the final.

The record of participating countries was set in 2008 and 2009 with 43 songs competing. This year several countries have withdrawn due to different reasons. The countries that won’t fly to Denmark this year are Bulgaria, Serbia, Croatia, Cyprus (they did participate in 2013) Bosnia Herzegovina (last participation, 2012), Turkey (last participation, 2012), Slovakia (last participation, 2012) and Czech Republic (last participation, 2009.

Luckily enough two countries are making their coming back in this year’s edition: Portugal and Poland. Poland’s two-years absence (due to financial reasons) was one of the most commented due to the poor results of the country in the previous years. On the other hand, Portugal did just a one-year break and will be participating again in 2014.

The participating countries and TV stations are: Albania (RTSH), Armenia (AMPTV), Austria (ORF), Azerbaijan (Ictimai TV), Belarus (BTRC), Belgium (VRT), Denmark (DR), Estonia (ERR), Finland (YLE), France (France 3), Georgia (GPB), Germany (NDR), Greece (NERIT), Hungary (MTV), Iceland (RÚV), Ireland (RTÉ), Israel (IBA), Italy (RAI), Latvia (LTV), Lithuania (LRT), FYR Macedonia (MKRTV), Malta (PBS), Moldova (TRM), Montenegro (RTCG), the Netherlands (AvroTros), Norway (NRK), Poland (TVP), Portugal (RTP), Romania (TVR), Russia (RTR), San Marino (SRMTV), Slovenia (RTVSLO),Spain (TVE), Sweden (SVT), Switzerland (SRG SSR), United Kingdom (BBC) and Ukraine (NTU).

Juanma Lopez

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.