Australia: Jury for “Eurovision: Australia Decides” revealed

Australia: Jury for “Eurovision: Australia Decides” revealed

Australian broadcaster SBS has revealed the jury members for their national final “Eurovision: Australia Decides”. The country’s first national selection with 10 acts competing for the ticket to Tel Aviv will take place on February 9 at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre. It will be hosted by Myf Warhurst and Joel Creasey, who have been Australia’s commentators at the contest since 2017.

Just like at the Eurovision Song Contest, the Australian representative will be determined 50% by public voting and 50% by jury votes. The public voting will begin on February 9 from 1am AEDT as Friday’s Dress Rehearsal performances will be uploaded on “SBS On Demand”.

The jury for “Eurovision: Australia Decides” is made up of:

  • Paul Clarke (Head of Delegation Australia)
  • Josh Martin (Commissioning Editor, Entertainment at SBS)
  • Fifa Riccobono (former CEO of Albert Music, a music publishing and production company)
  • Milly Petriella (Artist Service director of APRA, a music rights organisation)
  • Christer Björkman (producer of Sweden’s “Melodifestivalen” and of various Eurovision Song Contests)

The ten competing entries are:


As in all the previous years since their debut at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2015, last year Australia internally selected their representative: Jessica Mauboy finished in 20th position with her entry “We Got Love” in Lisbon. Eurovision 2016 runner up Dami Im, who achieved the best ever Australian result in the contest with her entry “Sound of Silence”, will be among the interval acts of Australia’s very first national final.

Michael Vollmer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.