Australia: Sheldon Riley selected for Eurovision 2022

Australia: Sheldon Riley selected for Eurovision 2022

Sheldon Rileyis the big winner of national final Eurovision: Australia Decides and will represent Australia at Eurovision 2022 with the song “Not the Same”.

The presenters of the show were Joel Creasey and Myf Warhurst. Guest stars appeared on the show were KEiiNO representatives of Norway at Eurovision Song contest in 2019. A total of 11 contestants compete in the national final “Eurovision: Australia Decides”.

The 11 contestants appeared on stage in the following order:

1.G-Nat!on – Bite Me

2.Erica Padilla – To the Bottom

3.Seann Miley Moore – My Body

4.Charley – I Suck At Being Lonely

5.Andrew Lambrou – Electrify

6.Sheldon Riley – Not the Same

7.Paulini – We Are One

8.Jaguar Jonze – Little Fires

9.Isaiah Firebrace and Evie Irie – When I’m With You

10.Voyager – Dreamer

11.Jude York – I Won’t Need to Dream

The results

The result was determined by a combination of a jury and a public vote with a 50% share each,which consisted of the following members: 

  • Darren Hayes –  Former lead singer of Savage Garden
  • Alexandra Rotan – Singer of KEiiNO, the Norwegian 2019 acts
  • Millie Petriella – APRA-AMCOS representative
  • Emily Griggs – SBS Head of Food and Entertainment
  • Paul Clarke – Head of Delegation for Australia

The votes of the jury were first announced with the scoreboard of the jury as follows:

The overall result was completed with televoting votes added by those of the jury, after which Sheldon Riley won and is the representative of Australia in Turin, leaving in second place the band Voyager and in third place Jaguar Jonze:

Sheldon will be performing in the first half of the 2nd semi final on May 12 in Turin, Italy. 

News source/Image: SBS

Theo K.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.