Denmark: DR kicks off submissions for Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2019

Denmark: DR kicks off submissions for Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2019

The Danish national broadcaster is heating up the engines  for the forthcoming 2019 Eurovision Song Contest by kicking off preparations of the next national selection. DR opened the submission window for artists and composers to submit their entries for competing in the 2019 Dansk Melodi Grand Prix.

Acts interested in representing the country at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest should submit their application alongside with their songs  to the Danish broadcaster until Wednesday 26 September 2018, when the deadline expires. The broadcaster has released the regulations for the next DMGP 2019 and acts that want to apply in order to participate in the next Danish national selection should fill in the application form.

After Denmark’s success at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest, MrJan Lagermand Lundme (DR’s Enterntainment Director) expressed his satisfaction for so far results rising furthermore the expectations for the forthcoming national selection. Among other he stated:

We are looking for high quality quality songs, as you remember. When we come to Eurovision, there are about 40 songs in total, so if we have a chance to do well, we have to come up with something of high quality and something that stands out so that viewers can remember us.

Furthermore the Danish broadcaster confirmed its collaboration for another year with stage producer Mads Enggaard, who was hired last year in order to make special staging arrangements for all competing entries and will continue this year working with the broadcaster contributing to select the best 10 national entries and arranging a special showcase of the Danish respresentative in a way that he will stand out on the Eurovision stage.

Eurovision Story So Far

Denmark made it first appearance in the Eurovision family in 1957 and has been crowned winner three times: In 1963 with Grethe & Jorgen Ingmann and the song Dansevise,  in 2000 with Olsen Brothers  and their entry  Fly on the wings of love and  in 2013 with Emmelie de Forest and her song Only teardrops. Take a dive into the past and remember Denmark’s first win :

The country apart from hosting the Contest each year after its victories , has hosted the special show tribute to the 50th Eurovision anniversary in 2005.

In 2018 Denmark was represent by Rasmussen who with Higher ground, giving a Viking touch in the latest contest in Lisbon, and finished in the 9th place of the Grand Final.

Source: DR

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.