Denmark: Here are the Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2020 district semi final contestants

Denmark: Here are the  Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2020 district semi final contestants

Denmark will be selecting its Eurovision representative once again through the Dansk Melodi Grand Prix (DMGP) .DR unveiled the acts that will compete in the district semi finals which will determine five spots of the national final.

DMGP 2020 eidtion

DMGP is reaching this year’s its 50th anniversary! The national final is set to take place on March 7 at the Royal Arena in Copenhagen and will be hosted by Hella Joof and Rasmus Bjerg, while the live orchestra returns for the first time after 1999.

In this year’s edition we see some changes introduced in the way the Danish representative will be selected. Five out of the ten songs of the national final have already been determined.

The rest five entries will be selected through a radio selection with a total of 9 songs which are divided in groups of three , depending on the region the acts come from (North,South and Eastern Denmark). The audience casts its votes until January 24 and the song that receives the most votes in each group qualifies to the DMGP 2020 final.

From the remaining 6 entries that didn’t qualify according to public voting, a jury will award two wildcards for the final, completing the total of 10 contestants we will see in the final show.

The Groups and acts that will battle for the five spots in the final are :

Group A (South Denmark)

Group B (East Denmark)

 Group C (North Denmark)

The national final will see a total of 10 entries that will battle to receive 50% of the points from the audience and another 50% by the juries. Once the voting is over the first three entries will go into a super final round where again public and jury voting will determine the final winner and the next Danish Eurovision representative in Rotterdam.


Denmark made it first appearance in the Eurovision family in 1957 and has been crowned winner three times: In 1963 with Grethe & Jorgen Ingmann and the song Dansevise,  in 2000 with Olsen Brothers  and their entry  Fly on the wings of love and  in 2013 with Emmelie de Forest and her song Only teardrops. The country apart from hosting the Contest each year after its victories , has hosted the special show tribute to the 50th Eurovision anniversary in 2005.

In 2018 Denmark was represent by Rasmussen who with Higher ground, giving a Viking touch in the latest contest in Lisbon, and finished in the 9th place of the Grand Final. This year Leonora defended the Danish colors at the Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv with Love is forever, finishing 12th in the Grand Final.


Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.