Denmark: Ben & Tan win Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2020 and will fly to Rotterdam

Denmark: Ben & Tan win Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2020 and will fly to Rotterdam

The Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2020 national final  took place tonight at Royal Arena in Copenhagen crowning winners  Ben & Tan who will represent Denmark At Eurovision 2020 with the song “Yes”

The national final was presented to us by Hella Joof and Rasmus Bjerg and saw the live orchestra returning for the first time since 1999 while the show unfold without the presence of audience after the Danish goverment’s decision due to the coronavirus spread.

DMGP 2020 edition 

In this year’s edition we saw some changes introduced in the way the Danish representative will be selected. Five out of the ten songs of the national final have already been determined. The rest five entries were selected through a radio selection with a total of 9 songs which are divided in three groups of three , depending on the region the acts come from (North,South and Eastern Denmark)The audience had to cast its votes  and the song that received the most votes in each group qualified to the DMGP 2020 final. From the remaining 6 entries that didn’t qualify according to public voting, a jury awarded two wildcards for the final, completing the total of 10 contestants we will see in the final show.

Therefore the final of DMGP 2020  saw  the following  contestants are:

  1.  Isam B – Bølger 
  2. Ben & Tan – Yes
  3. Maja & De Sarte Sjæle – Den eneste goth i Vejle 
  4.  Benjamin Kissi – Faith
  5.  Emil – Ville ønske jeg havde kendt dig 
  6. Sys Bjerre – Honestly 
  7. Jamie Talbot – Bye Bye Heaven 
  8. Sander Sanchez – Screens
  9. Kenny Duerlund – Forget It All 
  10. Jasmin Rose feat. RoxorLoops – Human


The final outcome wa determined after two rounds of voting. In both rounds of voting the result was influenced 50% by the public vote and 50% by a jury of experts. During the first round of voting the first three acts qualified to the second round of voting.  the three acts that received the most votes were:

  • Ben & Tan – Yes 
  • Emil – Ville ønske jeg havde kendt dig
  • Sander Sanchez – Screens

During the second round Ben & Tan  were crowned big winners  and Denmark’s next Eurovision rerpesentatives with the song “Yes” which you can listen to below:

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.