Duncan Laurence from The Netherlands wins the Eurovision Song Contest 2019

Duncan Laurence from The Netherlands wins the Eurovision Song Contest 2019

After months of national selections, internal procedures and preparations by the host country and 40 participating nations plus two week of rehearsals,  a total of 26 nations, took the stage tonight for the Grand Final of the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest. Duncan Laurence is crowned winner of this year’s edition bringing the trophy to The Netherlands!

The final show was aired live from Expo Tel Aviv  in Tel Aviv , Israel. A total of 26 nations , out of which 20 qualified after two semi finals while the rest six were the Big-5 countries and Israel.

The competing part of the show was opened by  Malta while the last entry to perform was Miki from Spain.  The show tonight unfolded according to the following running order:

Malta: Michela Pace – Chameleon

Albania: Jonida Maliqi – Ktheju tokës

Czech Republic: Lake Malawi – Friend of a friend

Germany: S!sters – Sister

Russia: Sergey Lazarev – Scream

Denmark: Leonora – Love is forever

San Marino: Serhat – Say na na na

North Macedonia: Tamara Todevska – Proud

Sweden: John Lundvik – Too late for love

Slovenia: Zala Kralj & Gašper Šantl – Sebi

Cyprus: Τάμτα – Replay

The Netherlands: Duncan Laurence – Arcade

Greece: Κατερίνα Ντούσκα – Better Love

Israel: Kobi Marimi – Home

Norway: Keiino – Spirit in the sky

United Kingdom: Michael Rice – Bigger than us

Iceland: Hatari – Hatrið mun sigra

Estonia:  Victor Crone – Storm

Belarus: ZENA – Like it

Azerbaijan: Chingiz – Truth

France: Billal Hassani – Roi

Italy: Mahmood – Soldi

Serbia: Nevena Božović – Kruna

Switzerland: Luca Hänni – She got me

Australia: Kate Miller-Heidke – Zero Gravity

Spain: Miki – La venda



First to be presented were the results from the 41 national juries. While the first set of 9 points were displayed automatically on the screen , the spokesperson from each nation announced the country to which the 12 points were awarded. Eventually Sweden topped the  jury voting with 239 points leaving behind second North Macedonia with 231 points, while  The Netherlands came 3rd with 231 points. You can take a look at the jury voting results below:


Following the national juries’ voting results , the hosts began presenting the public voting which was cast via televoting. This year the presentation of the public vote started from the country with the less jury votes.

*Analytical scoreboard to come soon


After adding to the jury voting results that of the televoting’s  The Netherlands was crowned winner of the 64th Eurovision Song contest with  total of 492 points while Italy came 2nd came with a total of 465 points and Russia 3rd place with 369 points . Check out the overall final scoreboard after jury and public voting were combined:

Hosts and Interval Acts

The show was hosted by the capable foursome Bar Refaeli and Erez Tal  who were located on the main stage plus Assi Azar and Lucy Ayoub  who were presenting the situation in the green room.

The opening featured former Israeli representatives: Netta (Israel 2018/Eurovision winner), Nadav Guedj (2015), Dana International (1998/2011) and Ilanit (1973, 1977).

The host broadcaster , KAN , set up a night full of Eurovision stars, among which  Conchita Wurst,  Mans Zelmerlöw,  Eleni Foureira and Verka Serduchka sang each other’s past Eurovision entries. Conchita performed Heroes, Måns sang Fuego, Eleni performed Dancing Lasha Tumbai while Verka last year’s winning entry Toy. 

Of course the highlight of the night was the guest performance of Madonna who performed onstage her old time classic hit “Like a prayer” and her newly released single ” Future” included in her new album “Madame X”

During the Interval Act Eurovision 2018 winner, Netta performed onstage her new single Nana Banana, while  Gali Atari winner of Eurovision 1979 performed the winning entry  Hallelujah. 

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.