EBU: Russia expelled from Eurovision Song Contest 2022

EBU: Russia expelled from Eurovision Song Contest 2022

The EBU in an official statement this afternoon announced that Russia is excluded from the 66th edition of the Eurovision Song Contest to be held in May in Turin.

The Russian military invasion of Ukraine and the use of force by Russia provoked a series of objections and threats of withdrawal from a large number of participating national broadcasters, the EBU decided to expel Russia from Eurovision 2022.

In particular, the following broadcasters openly requested the suspension of Russia from the competition with some of them ready to withdraw if Russia participated: UA: PBC (Ukraine), NRK (Norway), YLE (Finland), DR (Denmark) , SVT (Sweden), LRT (Lithuania), AVROTROS (Netherlands), ERR (Estonia), RUV (Iceland).

Below is the official announcement of the EBU regarding the expulsion of Russia from the Eurovision 2022 song contest in Turin:

Following the suspension of Russia, the number of competing countries is reduced to 40 that will take part in the competition in Turin, on May 10, 12 and 14.

 News Source: EBU / ESCToday.com

Image: EBU

Theo K.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.