A total of 24 songs have been submitted so far for Eesti Laul 2019, just one week away from the submission deadline.

One week away from the last day for submissions of songs and the Estonian national broadcaster, ERR revealed that a total of 24 songs have been submitted so far for the country’s national final.The titles of the songs , the songwriters and the semi final acts’ names will be unveiled on November 15. The songs will be released by December 4.

The semi finals are scheduled to take place on January 31 and February 2 , while the final will be held at Saku Suurhall  on February 16. Although the semi finals’ venues have not yet been revealed , it is set that they will be away from Tallin..

As significant changes are strengthening the national character of the national final , a total of 24 acts will compete in the national selection of Eesti Laula . Six acts from each semi final will battle in the final for the golden ticket that leads to Tel Aviv next May. Notable that for the first time the national selection is open to foreign songwriters.

In this year’s Eurovision Estonia was represented by Elina Nechayeva and her song La Forza, which finished 8th in the final with 245 points.


Estonia joined the Eurovision family in 1994 . On their debut participation they were represented by Silvi Vrait, who finished 2nd last with only 2 points. Seven years later the country was crowned winner of  Eurovision Song Contest 2001 for the first and only time until today. Tanel Padar, Dave Benton & 2XL, performed the song Everybody and managed to top surprisingly the scoreboard in Copenhagen. However this success didn’t continue as Estonia failed to qualify for the final from 2004-2008. In 2009 after successive bad results led to the establishment of Eesti Laul, as the show through which the country has been selecting its Eurovision entries the last ten years, having six times qualified to the final.

Lets remember Estonia winning entry back in ESC 2001: