Estonia: Eesti Laul 2021 Semi finals allocation determined

Estonia: Eesti Laul 2021 Semi finals allocation determined

The Estonian national broadcaster, ERR , has revealed the Eesti Laul 2021 semi final allocation, determining in which semi final the 24 participating acts will compete in. 

The previous weeks ERR released the competing acts and the songs of the Estonian national selection. Today the broadcaster went on determining the semi final in which each of the 24 Eesti Laul 2021 contestants will compete in. This is how the semi final allocation looks like: 

1st Semi Final (18 February) 

  1. Tanja – “Best Night Ever” ( Timo Vendt, Tanja Mihhailova-Saar, Mihkel Mattisen)
  2. Hans Nayna – “One By One” (Vahur Valgmaa, Hans Nayna)
  3. Wiiralt – “Tuuled” (Winds) – (Pat Lyons, Martin Saaremägi)
  4. Kéa – “Hypnotized” (Ketter Orav, Sander Sadam, Alvar Antson, Karl-Mathias Saarse)
  5. Andrei Zevakin & Pluuto – “Wingman (Andrei Zevakin, Henry Orlov) 
  6. Karl Killing – “Kiss Me” (by Karl Killing)
  7. Nika Marula – “Calm Down” (Andrei Zevakin, Nika Marula, Daniil Kotilevits)
  8. Egert Milder – “Free Again” (Kaspar Kalluste, Matteo Capreoli, Egert Milder)
  9. Tuuli Rand – “Üks öö”(One Night) – (Gevin Niglas, Kristel Aaslaid, Tuuli Rand)
  10. Koit Toome – “We Could Have Been Beautiful”  (Joonas Parkkonen, Koit Toome, Peppina Pällijeff)
  11. Kristin Kalnapenk – “Find A Way” ( Kristin Kalnapenk, Hannes Agur Vellend)
  12. Ivo Linna, Robert Linna, Supernova – “Ma olen siin” (I am here) -(Rainer Michelson, Robert Linna)

2nd Semi Final (20 February)

  1. Sissi – “Time” (Sissi Nylia Benita, Andrei Zevakin, Kelly Tulvik)
  2. Gram-Of-Fun – “Lost In A Dance” (Martin Kuut, Kristel Aaslaid, Raul Ojamaa, Kostja Tsõbulevski, Mikk Simson)
  3. Kadri Voorand – “Energy”  (Kadri Voorand)
  4. Helen – “Nii kõrgele”(So High)  (Rob Montes, Jason Hunter, Renae Rain, Helen Randmets)
  5. REDEL – “Tartu” (authors Kristjan Oden, Indrek Vaheoja)
  6. Rahel – “Sunday Night” (Rahel Ollisaar, Frederik Küüts, Jason Hunter)
  7. Uku Haasma – “Kaos” (Uku Haasma, Henri Erik Tammai, Rudolf Toltsberg)
  8. Heleza – “6”  (authors Karl Killing, Helena Põldmaa)
  9. Uku Suviste – “The Lucky One” (authors Uku Suviste, Sharon Vaughn)
  10. Alabama Watchdog – “Alabama Watchdog”(by Ken Einberg)
  11. Jüri Pootsmann – “Magus melanhoolia”(Sweet melancholy) – (Jüri Pootsmann, Joonas Mattias Sarapuu, Jana Hallas, Aleksi Liski)
  12. Suured tüdrukud – “Heaven’s Not That Far Tonight”(Koit Toome, Gevin Niglas, Karl Killing)

Essti Laul 2021 will run over three nights, during which two semi finals and a grand final show will unfold, all in the capital city of Tallinn. The Eesti Laul 2021 schedule is set as following:

  • Eesti Laul 2021 Semifinal  1 – February 18, 2021
  • Eesti Laul 2021 Semifinal  2 – February 20, 2021
  • Eesti Laul 2021 Grand Final – March 6, 2021

All shows are set to take place in Tallin , with the semi finals taking place in a tv studio while it remains uncertain whether the final will be held in Saku Suurhall or due to the covid-19 circumstances it will be relocated. All three shows wll be hosted by Tonis Niinemets και η Grete Kuld.

The Eurovision Story so Far 

Estonia became a member of the Eurovision family in 1994 . On their first participation Silvi Vrait flew the flag and finished 2nd last with only 2 points. However the first trophy came after seven years, when the country was crowned winner of  Eurovision Song Contest 2001. This is the country’s only victory up to date. Tanel Padar, Dave Benton & 2XL, performed the song Everybody and were victorious bringing the trophy from Copenhagen in Estonia.

However the good results didn’t continue as Estonia failed to qualify for the final from 2004-2008. In 2009 due to the poor results the national broadcaster introduced Eesti Laul, as the selection format through which the country has been selecting its Eurovision entries the last 11 years, having six times qualified to the final. In 2018 Eesi Laul 2018 winner,  Elina Nichayeva represented the country with her entry  La Forza which finish 8th in the Grand final.

In 2019, the country was represented by Eesti Laul 2019 winner, Victor Crone who performed on the Expo Tel Aviv stage the song “Storm” which finished 20th in the grand final.

Uku Suviste won the Esti Laul 2020 national final with the song “What Love Is” but due to the cancellation of Eurovision the musician was deprived the chance to represent Estonia in Rotterdam this year. Lets remember his Eurovision 2020 entry.

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.