Estonia: ERR unveils the competing songs of Eesti Laul 2019

Estonia: ERR unveils the competing songs of Eesti Laul 2019

The Estonian national broadcaster, unveiled today the 24 songs that will compete at the upcoming Eesti Laul 2019, Estonia’s national selection format. 

The national broadcaster ERR received for this year’s national selection, a total of 216 songs, a committee of experts shortlisted the number to the best 24 . The 24 acts will compete in two semi finals , 12 in each semi final round. The two semi finals are set to take place on 31 january and February 2 respectively. The Grand final will be held on February 16. 

After revealing the 24 acts and the song titles  a couple of weeks ago, on 20 November the Estonian broadcaster held a draw allocation for the semi finals . Today ERR moved on further by unveiling the songs that will compete in the two semi finals. Take a look at the 24 songs that will be competing in this year’s national selection:

1) KadiahBelieve

2) Kerli KivilaanCold Love

3) Inger – Coming Home

4) Sofia Rubina Hunter – Deep Water

5) Around The Sun – Follow Me Back

6) Lacy Jay – Halleluja

7) The Swingers – High Heels In The Neighbourhood

8) Xtra basic & Emily J – Hold Me Close

9) Synne Valtri – I’ll Do It My Way

10) Iseloomad – Kaks miinust

11) Grete Paia – Kui isegi kaotan

12) Jennifer Cohen – Little Baby El

13) Johanna Eendra – Miks sa teed nii?

14) Lumevärv ft. INGA – Milline päev

15) Cätlin Mägi & Jaan Pehk – Parmumäng

16) Uku Suviste – Pretty Little Liar

17) Marko Kaar – Smile

18) Sandra Nurmsalu – Soovide puu

19) Victor Crone – Storm

20) Sissi – Strong

21) Ranele – Supernova

22) Stefan – Without You

23) Kaia Tamm – Wo sind die Katzen?

24) Öed – Öhuloss 


We remind you that among the names we meet once more Grete Paia who participates for the third time in the national selection. Sandra Nurmsalu is another outstanding name, who had represented the country back in Eurovision 2009 as member of the group “Urban Symphony”. Their song “Rändajad” achieved a top 10 placing finishing 6th in the final.

“The Swingers” even though it is a group that we meet for the first time , its members have represented Estonia in the past. Namely, Birgit Õigemeel (Et uus saaks alguse-2013) and Tanja (Amazing-2014) have waved the Estonian flag in 2013 and 2014.  Additionally, the group Öed consists of  Tuuli Rand and Kristel Aaslaid , who we remember from her 2016 national final participation with her entry “Immortality” and the group“Cartoon”. In 2014, Estonia with Tanja and her song “Amazing” failed to qualify to the final while the same year Sandra Nurmsalu finished 5th in the national final. 

Stefan was member of  Vaje who competed in last year’s selection with the song “Laura” while Stig Rästa, who this time won’t participate himself, is alongside with others the author of the song “Storm” performed by Victor Crone ( vocalist of the Meldofestivalen 2015 entry  “Det rår vi inte för” sung by Swedish Iranian act Behrang Miri. Couldn’t miss outlining Sissi’s participation, who is the daughter of  David Benton, one of the two Estonian winners of Eurovision 2001  with the song “Everybody”.

It will be very excititng to see what these past Eesti Laul participants will manage to do in this year’s national selection. 


Estonia joined the Eurovision family in 1994 . On their debut participation they were represented by Silvi Vrait, who finished 2nd last with only 2 points. Seven years later the country was crowned winner of  Eurovision Song Contest 2001 for the first and only time until today. Tanel Padar, Dave Benton & 2XL, performed the song Everybody and managed to top surprisingly the scoreboard in Copenhagen. However this success didn’t continue as Estonia failed to qualify for the final from 2004-2008. In 2009 after successive bad results led to the establishment of Eesti Laul, as the show through which the country has been selecting its Eurovision entries the last ten years, having six times qualified to the final.

This year Eesi Laul 2018 winner,  Elina Nichayeva represented the country with her entry  La Forza which finish 8th in the Grand final.



Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.