Estonia: It’s Victor Crone with “Storm” for Tel Aviv

Estonia: It’s Victor Crone with “Storm” for Tel Aviv

Estonia has chosen its Eurovision 2019 entry as “Eesti Laul 2019″ has just concluded. It is Victor Crone with the song “Storm” who will be flying the Estonian flag at the Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv.

After two semi final rounds with a total of 24 comepting acts, the final of the Estonian national selection “Eesti Laul” took place at the Saku Suurhall in Tallin. In each semi-final 12 entries were competing, with 6 acts from each round qualifying to the final. Among the guest performances were former Eurovision representatives Elina Nechayeva (Eurovision 2018), Getter Jaani (Eurovision 2011) and Ivo Linna (Eurovision 1996). The final was hosted by Piret Krumm and Karl-Erik Taukar.


Tonight’s running order of the 12 finalists:

  1. Sissi – Strong
  2. Lumevärv ft. Inga – Milline päev
  3. Victor Crone – Storm
  4. Kerli Kivilaan – Cold love
  5. xtra basic & Emily J – Hold me close
  6. Kadiah – Believe
  7. Synne Valtri – I’ll do it my way 
  8. Stefan – Without you
  9. The Swingers, Tanja & Birgit – High heels in the neighbourhood
  10. Uku Suviste – Pretty little liar
  11. Inger – Coming home 
  12. Sandra Nurmsalu – Soovide puu

Just as in the previous years, the winner was determined after two rounds of voting. In the first round, the public and an international jury awarded their points to the competing entries after all the performances. Due to the rather small size of the Estonian music industry, a 100% international jury was introduced this year. It was made up of Stiig Karlsson (Norway), AFSHeeN (Los Angeles), Guna Zucika (Latvia), Ben Camp (Berklee College Of Music), Cyrus Saidi (Hollywood), Lörinc Bubno (Hungary) and Josh Cumbee (Los Angeles). In this first round the public and the international jury determined the three acts to qualify to a second Super Final round.

The International Jury results:


The Televoting Results + International Jury Results (without the announcement of the televoting’s top 4):


The three acts that received the highest number of points and qualified for the Super Final were:

  • Victor Crone – Storm

  • Stefan – Without you

Uku Suviste – Pretty little liar

In the Super Final only the public determined which one out of the three acts will represent Estonia at Eurovision next May in Tel Aviv: Victor Crone with “Storm”. Uku Suviste got the second place and International Jury winner Stefan finished third with his entry “Without you”.

Michael Vollmer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.