The traditional draw was held today at Kyiv’s City Hall in order to distribute a total of 37 countries into one of the two 2016 Eurovision Song Contest semi-finals, scheduled to be held on 9 and 11 May at the IEC in Kyiv, Ukraine.


The hosts of the whole procedure were Tim Miroshnychenko and  Nina Konstantinova while Kiev’s Mayor Vitali Klitschko was present too and of course last year’s winner Jamala. Today the head of Stockholm’s Municipal Council, Louise Erlandsson Slorach pass officialy over the keys of the contest to the Mayor of Kiev.


Before today’s draw we already knew that Switzerland had been placed in the second semi-final as they requested it beforehand, and EBU approved of that wish.

A total 0f 43 countries will participate at the forthcoming Eurovision Song Contest. 37 countries will compete in the semi-finals, whilst the BIG 5 and the host country Ukraine are automatically qualified to compete in the grand final.  Apart from which semi final, today’s draw determined in which half of each semi final will the countries perform. After the draw was held the final allocation has as following:

Semi-final 1

First half

  • Montenegro
  • Finland
  • Georgia
  • Portugal
  • Belgium
  • Sweden
  • Albania
  • Azerbaijan
  • Australia

Second half

  • Cyprus
  • Slovenia
  • Armenia
  • Moldova
  • Czech Republic
  • Latvia
  • Iceland
  • Greece
  • Poland

Semi-final 2

First half

  • FYR Macedonia
  • Malta
  • The Netherlands
  • Serbia
  • Denmark
  • Russia
  • Romania
  • Hungary
  • Austria
  • Ireland

Second half

  • Switerland
  • Estonia
  • Israel
  • Bulgaria
  • San Marino
  • Lithuania
  • Croatia
  • Norway
  • Belarus


As we can see a total of 18 countries will compete in the First Semi-final on 9 May,whilst 19 countries will compete in the Second Semi-final  on 11 May.

Big 5 + host country voting

The so-called Big 5 countries, United Kingdom, Spain, Germany, France and Italy together along with the hosting country Ukraine are automatically qualified foe the Grand Final. However today’s draw appointed in which semi final the will have the right to vote:

The countries voting in semi-final 1 will be:

  • Italy
  • Spain
  • United Kingdom

The ones voting in semi-final 2 will be:

  • Ukraine
  • Germany
  • France

The 2017 Eurovision Song Contest will will be held on 9, 11 and 13 May at the IEC in Kyiv.