Eurovision 2018: Allocation draw of semi finals on the 29th of January

Eurovision 2018: Allocation draw of semi finals on the 29th of January

2018 is here and RTP is collaborating with EBU in order to set everything on time. Today, RTP announced that the allocation draw will take place at the city hall of Lisbon on the 29th of January at 13:00 CET. This draw will determine in which semi final and in which part of the show will the 37 countries will be placed. Moreover, we will find out in which semi final will vote Big-5 and Portugal.

During the ceremony, Vitali Klitschko, mayor of Kiev will hand over the organization of Eurovision Song Contest to    Fernando Medina, mayor of Lisbon. Sílvia Alberto and Filomena Cautela, two of the ESC 2018 hosts, will also host the ceremony. Mr. Jon Ola Sand,  executive supervisor of Eurovision Song Contest will also be present at the allocation draw and will supervise the hole procedure.

All 37 countries are divided into 6 pots. From each pot, half of the countries will be placed on the first semi final and the other half on the second. 19 countries will compete in the 1st semi-final on the 8th of May and 18 countries will compete in the 2nd semi-final on the 10th of May. The exact running order of each country will be determined by the producers of ESC. Each country was placed in a pot according to their voting history.


What do you think about allocation draw pots? Do you agree with the whole procedure? Stay tuned at and find out more about Eurovision Song Contest 2018. All Aboard!!!!




Stefanos Charpantidis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.