Eurovision 2020: Host city to be announced in August

Eurovision 2020: Host city to be announced in August

The three Dutch national broadcasters , NPO, AVROTROS και NOS , responsible for the next Eurovision Song Contest in 2020 revealed today that the host city will be announced in August.

The Dutch national broadcaster  NPO through a press release shed some more light on the host city bid process details. 

A case for 9 candidate cities

After the addition of  Leeuwarden-Friesland  on the list of cities that had applied officially to host the next Eurovision Song Contest the total number of the candidate cities in the bid process has risen to 9. There are : 

  • Amsterdam
  • Rotterdam
  • Arnhem
  • Maastricht-Limburg
  • Utrecht
  • The Hague
  • Den Bosch
  • Breda
  • Leeuwarden-Friesland

The cities have 4 weeks in front of them to prepare their proposal and the candidacy file that will support them. Through their documents they must have answers and solutions to issues that have to do with the location where the event will be hosted, the facilities for the side events, the accommodation , infrastructure and technical issues and transportation means and accessibility as well. 

Host city announcement in August

The candidate cities have time up to Wednesday , July 1o to submit their files and proposals. However up to this date any other city or region that is interested in hosting the next Eurovision Song Contest can submit its file-application. All files will be handed to the three Dutch broadcasters that NPO, AVROTROS and NOS in order to review all proposals. The final decision on which city will host the next Eurovision Song Contest will be revealed in August.

Meanwhile the EBU and the three Dutch broadcasters will determine the dates on which the three live shows of the next Eurovision will take place in The Netherlands, after Duncan Laurence’s victory last month in Tel Aviv.

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.