Eurovision 2021: EBU confirms the number of particpating countries

Eurovision 2021: EBU confirms the number of particpating countries

The official list of the participating countries is out and confirmed! EBU confirmed today that a total of 41 nations will comepte at the next edition of the Eurovision Song contest in Rotterdam.

The number of countries that will be taking part in the next edition of the Eurovision Song Contest reaches the magic number 41. A total of 35 countries will be participating in the two semi finals set to take place on 18 and 20 May while 26 artists will advance to the Grand final on May 22

With the Big 5 countries qualifiying automatically to the final along with the host nation, 20 delegates out of 35 ( 10 from each semi final) will advance to the final show. 


Mr. Martin Osterdahl (EBU’s Eurovision Song Contest Executive Supervisor) says:

We are grateful for the commitment of the 41 participating broadcasters in helping us bring the Eurovision Song Contest back in 2021.

We have the exact same line up of countries that would have competed in 2020 and we are thrilled that they will all return next year. Together with our host broadcasters we are continuing to develop the 4 different scenarios and maintaining a dialogue with all participants. The team from NPO, NOS and AVROTROS are working hard on ensuring the Eurovision Song Contest will provide the excitement and innovation expected by over 180 million viewers, despite the challenging circumstances.

Sietse Bakker (Eurovision Song Contest 2021 Executive Producer) says:

It is fantastic that the same 41 countries that would have taken part this year still want to come to the Netherlands in May 2021. This demonstrates their confidence in our country still being able to organize a successful Eurovision Song Contest in Rotterdam next year, after the cancellation of the 2020 edition.”

We have set the bar high to create 3 amazing live shows for an audience of 180 million people, even in these challenging times. To achieve this, we are working on an extensive protocol that guarantees the health of employees, participants, the press and visitors as much as possible.

The official list of participating countries includes the following nations and broadcasters: 

  1. Albania (RTSH)
  2. Armenia (AMPTV)
  3. Australia (SBS)
  4. Austria (ORF)
  5. Azerbaijan (ICTIMAI)
  6. Belarus (BTRC)
  7. Belgium (RTBF/VRT)
  8. Bulgaria (BNT)
  9. Croatia (HRT)
  10. Cyprus (CyBC)
  11. Czech Republic (CT)
  12. Denmark (DR9
  13. Estonia (ERR)
  14. Finland (YLE)
  15. France (FRANCE 2)
  16. North Macedonia (MKRTV)
  17. Germany (ARD)
  18. Georgia (GPB)
  19. Greece (ERT)
  20. Iceland (RUV)
  21. Ireland (RTE)
  22. Israel (IPBC/KAN)
  23. Italy (RAI)
  24. Latvia (LTV)
  25. Lithuania (LRT)
  26. Malta (PBS)
  27. Moldova (TRM)
  28. The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
  29. Norway (NRK)
  30. Poland (TVP)
  31. Portugal (RTP)
  32. Romania (TVR)
  33. Russia (C1R)
  34. San Marino (SMRTV)
  35. Serbia (RTS)
  36. Slovenia (RTVSLO)
  37. Spain (RTVE)
  38. Sweden (SVT)
  39. Switzerland (SRF)
  40. Ukraine (UA:PBC)
  41. United Kingdom (BBC)

Eurovision 2021 is set to take palce at Rotterdam Ahoy, in Rotterdam on 18,20 and 22 May. 

News Source:

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.