Eurovision 2021: ESC 2020 acts or new selected acts? The map of confirmed countries and acts (continuous update)

Eurovision 2021: ESC 2020 acts or new selected acts? The map of confirmed countries and acts (continuous update)

Following the Eurovision 2020 cancellation and the EBU’s decision not to allow this year’s entries to compete in the 2021 edition, the countries have started revealing whether they will continue with the same ESC 2020 acts next year or select a new representative. 

Once the Eurovision song contest was cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak the question that came up was what will happen with this year’s acts that didn’t eventually have the chance to perform on stage in Rotterdam their Eurovision entries. The EBU through a clear statement outruled the ESC 2020 songs ,by not allowing the same entries for 2021 but leaving to the broadcasters to decide whether they will return with the same acts or not.

The decision was accepted by broadcasters and acts with mixed feelings. However some nations out of the 41 countries that were to participate in this year’s contest have already confirmed their participation and there act or the format that will determine next year’s representative.

Therefore the Eurovision 2021 puzzle of competing acts and countries for Eurovision 2021 has so far as following:


So far a total of 13 countries have confirmed their Eurovision 2021 participation and the comeback of the ESC 2020 acts .These are:

  1. Spain Blas Canto
  2. The Netherlands– Jeangu Macrooy
  3. Ukraine– GO_A Band
  4. Greece– Stefania
  5. Georgia Tornike Kipiani
  6. Azerbaijan– Samira Efendi
  7. SwitzerlandGjon’s Tears
  8. Belgium– Hooverphonic
  9. Bulgaria– Victoria
  10. Israel – Eden Alene
  11. Austria – Vincent Bueno
  12. Romania – Roxen
  13. AustraliaMontaigne


So far 6 countries have confirmed that they will be competing in Eurovision 2021 but with new selected acts. Estonia has confirmed that it will select a new Eurovision representaitve via Eesti Laul 2021 and gave to Uku Suviste a direct pass to the semi finals, while Sweden will be selecting its ESC 2021 act through the Melodifestivalen 2021 format. The same have chosen Norway, Finland and Lithuania and Denmark.

  1. Sweden– Melodifestivalen
  2. Estonia– Eesti Laul
  3. Norway – Grand Prix 2021
  4. Finland – UMK 2021
  5. Lithuania – Pabandom Iš Naujo 2021
  6. DenmarkDansk Melodi Grand Prix 2021


Croatia has confimred its ESC 2021 participation but the national broadcaster, HRT, hasn’t confirmed whether it will continue with Kedzo Damir or go to a new national selection.

  1. Croatia 


  1. Albania
  2. Armenia
  3. Belarus
  4. Cyprus
  5. Czech Republic
  6. France
  7. Germany
  8. Iceland
  9. Ireland
  10. Italy
  11. Latvia
  12. Malta
  13. Moldova
  14. North Macedonia
  15. Poland
  16. Portugal
  17. San Marino
  18. Serbia
  19. Slovenia
  20. Russia
  21. United Kingdom


Meanwhile a number of countries that have been absent the latest yeats haven’t yet confirmed a possible return or not. Among them Hungary and Montenegro that have been absent only the last year and seem more closer to a decision of returning.

  1. Hungary
  2.  Montenegro

On the other hand there’s a list of countries that have taken the path of absence the last years and their return seems less likely to take place . These are :

  1. Bosnia & Herzegovina
  2. Monaco
  3. Luxembourg
  4. Andorra
  5. Turkey
  6. Slovakia
  7. Morocco

Depsite the unfortunate cancellation of Eurovision 2020 the host city of Rotterdam has expressed its intention to go on with hosting the Eurovision Song Contest next year. However, an official confirmation is expected in the following months.

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.