EBU has confirmed that the host country’s Eurovision 2021 hopeful, Jeangu Macrooy,  will appear 23rd in the Grand final keeping this year’s spot in next edition’s final show. 

After the decision of adopting the same as ESC 2020 semi finals line up for next year’s contest, the Reference Group cleared out that the host country’s representative, Jeangu Macrooy will keep the same spot  in the ESC 2021 final as this year. The decision seems rather rational since there won’t be a new allocation draw for the semi finals, during which a separate draw takes place to determine the host nation’s position in the grand final.  

A total of 35 nations will compete in the two semi finals set to take place on May 18 and 20. In the first semi final 17 countries will battle for the ticket to the grand final while the second semi final will see 18 countries which will fight to join the Big-5 countires and host country in the Grand Final show. 

The final running order will be determined by the producers after the competing countries have completed their national selections and all entries are submitted. 

The 2021 Eurovision Song Contest will be held on 18, 20, 22 May at the Rotterdam Ahoy in Rotterdam, The Netherlands.