Finland: Aksel Kankaanranta wins UMK 2020 and is off to Rotterdam!

Finland: Aksel Kankaanranta wins UMK 2020 and is off to Rotterdam!

Finland has decided! Through the national final format of UMK 2020 the Finnish nation has decided to send Aksel Kankaanranta  at Eurovision 2020 and represent the country performing  Looking Back.

The Finnish national final took place this evening in Tampere and was hosted by Krista Siegfrids (Finalnd 2013) and Mikko Silvennoinen (YLE’s Eurovision commetator).

After receiving a total of 426 submissions for this year’s national final, the broadcaster through a special committee of experts concluded in six acts to compete in the final show. Therefore the six acts that took the stage tonight were:

  1. Catharina Zühlke – Eternity
  2. Erika Vikman – Cicciolina
  3. Aksel Kankaanranta – Looking Back
  4. F3M – Bananas
  5. Sansa – Lover Viewc
  6. Tika – I Let My Heart Break

The final outcome was influenced 50% by the public vote and 50% by the votes coming from 8 international juries from the following countries: Bulgaria, Estonia, Germany, The Netherlands, Sweden, Spain, Russia, United Kingdom.

The jury votes developed as following:


Once the jury votes were in the public votes were unveiled and added to the jury voting crowning as final winner and next Finnish Eurovision 2020 rerpesentative  Aksel Kankaanranta  :


Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.