Finland: Krista Siegfrids and Mikko Silvennoinen the UMK 2020 hosts

Finland: Krista Siegfrids and Mikko Silvennoinen the UMK 2020 hosts

The Finnish national broadcaster , YLE, revealed the hosts of the country’s national final UMK 2020 that will determine the Finnish representative at Eurovision 2020. 

During the last week of November the Finnish national broadcaster had announced that  it had received for the Eurovision 2020 national final , UMK 2020,  a total of 426 songs which were evaluated by a 10 member jury made up by music experts and that a total of six entries will compete for the golden ticket to Rotterdam. Today the YLE unveiled the UKM 2020 hosts. 

The upcoming Finnish national final will be presented to us by Krista Siegfrids and Mikko Silvennoinen, YLE’s Eurovision commentatorKrista had represented Finland at Eurovision 2013 in Malmö , Sweden with her song “Marry Me” and came 24th in the final. Krista has hosted in the past  Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu  2016, 2017, 2018 κand 2019 and has participated in Sweden Melodifestivalen, in 2016 and 2017.

The six UMK 2020 finalists will be unveiled on January 21 while the national final is set to take place on March 7, 2020. in Tampere. The winner will be selected through a public televote and an expert jury.

The Eurovision Story so far

Finland made its debut in the contest back in 191 and has once the contest, in 2006 , when the country was represented by  Lordi and their entry Hard Rock Hallelujah. The country’s best result before then was achieved by Marion Rung with the song “Tom Tom Tom” in 1973, which placed sixth.

Finland has finished last in the contest ten times, receiving “nul points” in 1963, 1965 and 1982. Since the introduction of the semi-finals in 2004, Finland has failed to reach the final seven times. In 2014, the country had its best result in eight years when Softengine finished 11th. In 2015, Finland finished last in the first semi-final with the shortest-ever Eurovision entry, “Aina mun pitää” performed by Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät.

In 2018 Saara Aalto represented the country with her entry Monsters but she finished second last in the Grand final. In 2019 Darude & Sebastian Rejman represented the Scandinavic country in Tel Aviv with the song “Look Away”, but failed to reach the final as they finished 17th in the semi final.

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.