Finland: UMK 2020 participants unveiled

Finland: UMK 2020 participants unveiled

Finland will be selecting its Eurovision 2020 act and entry through the music competition of UMK (Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu). Through a special press conference YLE, announced the 6 acts that will compete in the Finnish national final. 

The six entries that we will see in this year’s Finnish national final are:

  1. Tika – I Let My Heart Break
  2. Erika Vikman – Cicciolina
  3. Aksel Kankaanranta – Looking back
  4. F3M – Bananas
  5. Sansa – Lover View
  6. Catharina Zühlke – Eternity

The national final will take place in the television studios of  Mediapoliksen in Tampere on March 7 . UMK 2020 hosts will be Krista Siegfrids (Finland 2013) and Mikko Silvennoinen,  YLE ‘s  Eurovision commentator. The entries will be released daily starting on January 24.

The Eurovision Story so far

Finland made its debut in the contest back in 191 and has once the contest, in 2006 , when the country was represented by  Lordi and their entry Hard Rock Hallelujah. The country’s best result before then was achieved by Marion Rung with the song “Tom Tom Tom” in 1973, which placed sixth.

Finland has finished last in the contest ten times, receiving “nul points” in 1963, 1965 and 1982. Since the introduction of the semi-finals in 2004, Finland has failed to reach the final seven times. In 2014, the country had its best result in eight years when Softengine finished 11th. In 2015, Finland finished last in the first semi-final with the shortest-ever Eurovision entry, “Aina mun pitää” performed by Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät.

In 2018 Saara Aalto represented the country with her entry Monsters but she finished second last in the Grand final. In 2019 Darude & Sebastian Rejman represented the Scandinavic country in Tel Aviv with the song Look Away”, but failed to reach the final as they finished 17th in the semi final.

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.