France: Bilal Hassani wins national final Destination Eurovision 2019

France: Bilal Hassani wins national final Destination Eurovision 2019

Just some minutes before the final of France’s national selection, Destination Eurovision 2019, crowned winner Bilal Hassani with his song Roi and will represent France at Eurovision 2019 in Tel Aviv next May.

Following the two semi final rounds that brought 8 acts to the final of Destination Eurovision 2019, today’s final crowned as the new “king” of France Bilal Hasani achieving an amazing result in the televoting  despite being 5th in the international jury voting.

The final results was determined 50% by an international jury and 50% by public voting. Host of the show was once again French Canadian act Garou, while the national jury panel consisted of Christophe WillemAndré ManoukianVitaa who didn’t have a say on the final outcome but expressed their impressions on the acts’ performances.

The 8 competing acts of the final as they appeared on stage were:

  1. Chimène Badi – Là-haut
  2. Silvàn Areg – Allez leur dire 
  3. The Divaz – La voix d’Aretha
  4. Emmanuel Moire – La promesse
  5. Doutson – Sois un bon fils
  6. Seemone – Tous les deux
  7. Bilal Hassani – Roi
  8. Aysat – Comme une grande

The 8 finalists before singing their songs for Eurovision perfored a cover of a past Eurovision song impressing once again the audience:

  1. Chimène Badi – Ne partez pas sans moi (Céline Dion)
  2. Silvàn Areg – C’est le dernier qui a parlé (Amina)
  3. The Divaz – Waterloo (ABBA)
  4. Emmanuel Moire – Euphoria (Loreen)
  5. Doutson – J’ai cherché (Amir)
  6. Seemone –“L’oiseau et l’enfant” ( Marie Myriam)
  7. Bilal Hassani – Fuego (Eleni Foureira)
  8. Aysat – Fairytale (Aleksander Rybak)

Further down you can see the analytical results after the jury’s voting and the overall once the public had voted. The International jury consisted of the following members: 

  • Rona Nishliu – represented Albania at Eurovision 2012 (Albania)
  • Olga Salamakha – Head of Delegation, producer of Junior Eurovision 2018 (Belarus)
  • Alex Panayi – represented Cyprus at Eurovision 1995 and 2000 (Cyprus)
  • Christoph Pellander – Head of Delegation (Germany)
  • Michael Kealy – Head of Delegation (Ireland)
  • Doron Medalie – songwriter, composer of “Toy” (Israel)
  • Nicola Caligiore – Head of Delegation (Italy)
  • Ekaterina Orlova – Head of Delegation (Russia)
  • Beatriz Luengo – singer, dancer, comedian (Spain)
  • Reto Peritz – Head of Delegation (Switzerland)



Lets take one more look at Bilal’s winning performance that gave him the golden ticket to Tel Aviv:

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.