Iceland: Listen to the competing songs of Söngvakeppnin 2018.

Iceland: Listen to the competing songs of  Söngvakeppnin 2018.

The competing acts and songs titles of this year’s Iceland’s national final, Söngvakeppnin 2018 , leaked on the web today. As usual Iceland’s national final consists of three shows, two semi finals ( on 10 and 17 February)  at the  Háskólabíó conference Hall and the Grand final  on Μarch 3 at the Laugardalshöll Arena. 

The 12 artists revealed today, were broken up in two groups of  six contestants , which will compete in the two semi final rounds.  The top 3 artists from each semi final will qualify to the final, while one wildcard from both semi finals will be given to one singer determined by a special jury.

The 12 acts and their song titles are listed below :

  1. Aron Hannes – Golddigger / Gold Digger
  2.  Áttan – Hér með þér / Here for You
  3. Ari Ólafsson – Heim / Our Choice
  4. Fókus hópurinn – Aldrei gefast upp / Battleline
  5. Dagur Sigurðarson – Í stormi / Saviour
  6. Stefanía Svavarsdóttir, Agnes Marinósdóttir & Regína Lilja Magnúsdóttir – Svaka stuð / Heart Attack
  7. Þórunn Antonía – Ég mun skína / Shine
  8. Guðmundur Þórarinsson – Litir / Colours
  9. Þórir Geir Guðmundsson & Gyða Margrét Kristjánsdóttir – Brosa / With You
  10. Tómas Helgi Wehmeier & Sólborg Guðbrandsdóttir – Ég og þú / Think It Through
  11. Rakel Pálsdóttir – Óskin mín / My Wish
  12. Heimilistónar – Kúst og fæjó

You can listen to all the competing songs on the official Söngvakeppnin 2018  site 

The participants must perform their songs in local language on the semi final nights and in whichever language the prefer in the final.

Iceland participates in the Eurovision Song Contest since 1986 and has in her history two 2nd placings , in 1999 and 2009. Last year the country representative Svala with her song Paper failed to reach the Grand  final. Svala finished in the 15th non qualifying place with 60 points.

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.