Israel: Eurovision 2020 act to be selected on February 4; New plans for Eurovision 2021

Israel: Eurovision 2020 act to be selected on February 4; New plans for Eurovision 2021

As we have seen already Israel is selecting its Eurovision 2020 representative once again through the talent show HaKokhav HaBa L’Eurovizion (The Next Star for Eurovision). Today the Israeli broadcaster, KAN revealed that the final show that will determine the country’s next Eurovision act will take place on February 4. 

So far the talent show of HaKokhav HaBa L’Eurovizion has reached its top 20 phase , with 20 acts in the race to represent Israel at the next Eurovision Song Contest in Rotterdam.

The final of HaKokhav HaBa L’Eurovizion  is set for February 4, 2020. The show, which airs two times every week on  “Keshet 12” channel, will determine the Israeli artist. The Israeli song for Eurovision 2020 is expected to be selected through a separate show, by the Israeli broadcaster KAN, instead of using an internal selection.

Eurovision 2021

The Israeli bradcaster has somehow already confirmed its participation and in Eurovison 2021, by announcing the changes of plans for next year’s national slection format. Specifically, KAN has announced that it intends to present a new show on its own in order to determine the Eurovision 2021 act. The format will resemble to the old national selection show of  “Kdam Eurovision” replacing the  “The Next Star” as the country’s national selection show.


Israel has participated in the Eurovision Song Contest 40 times since making its debut in 1973. Israel’s first appearance at the contest in 1973 was successful, with Ilanit finishing fourth. Israel has achieved 4  victories, in 1978 and 1979, with first two wins for Izhar Cohen and the Alphabeta, with the song “A-Ba-Ni-Bi”and Gali Atari and Milk and Honey, with “Hallelujah” .  Its third victory came in 1998, with Dana International and “Diva”  and its fourth this year with Netta’s song Toy. 

The country’s best results apart from  its victories  were the second-place finishes for Avi Toledano in 1982 and Ofra Haza in 1983. Former winner Izhar Cohen returned to place fifth in 1985. Duo Datz finished third in 1991, while Eden finished fifth in 1999. Israel has hosted the contest twice, in 1979 and 1999, both times in Jerusalem.

After the introduction of the semi-finals in 2004, Israel has failed to reach the final six times. In 2014, the country failed to qualify for the fourth consecutive year, when Mei Feingold finished 14th (out of 15) in the second semi final, despite being one of the favorites to qualify. In 2015, Israel reached the final for the first time in five years, with Nadav Guedj finishing ninth. The only Israeli entrant to achieve a better result in the 21st century before their 2018 win was Shiri Maimon in 2005, who gave the country its tenth top five result in the contest, finishing fourth. In 2018 Netta Brazilai brought the trophy home winning Eurovision 2018 in Lisbon with her song Toy.

This year the host nation was represented by Kobi Marimi and his entry “Home” which finished 23rd in the Grand final.

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.