Israel: “HaKokhav HaBa L’Eurovizion” will determine the next ESC 2019 representative

Israel: “HaKokhav HaBa L’Eurovizion” will determine the next ESC 2019 representative

According to local media reports HaKokhav HaBa L’Eurovizion (Next Star for Eurovision) , worldwide known as the talent show “The rising Star”, will be the mechanism used again to determine the next Israeli Eurovision representative for 2019.

The administrative council of KAN decided that  HaKokhav HaBa L’Eurovizion will be for a 5th consecutive year Israel’s national selection process for the Eurovision Song Contest 2019. Kan’s decision is more than rational, considering that since the country has been using this show to select its representative, every act since 2015  has achieved to qualify to the Grand final, with Netta’s victory being the cherry on top.

However, some significant changes are to be introduced into this year’s selection. One new element will be that the song that will represent the country will also be selected through the same show. A total of three programs will be aired in order to select which song will represent the hosting country. Additionally, an extra show “Last Ticket to the Final”  will be held to determine one more artist that will go straight to the final of  HaKokhav HaBa L’Eurovizion (The Next Star)

It seems that the Israeli officials haven’t slept on Netta’s 2018 victory but intend to make all necessary changes that will secure another positive result for the country this time on home soil.


Israel has participated in the Eurovision Song Contest 42 times since making its debut in 1973. Israel’s first appearance at the contest in 1973 was successful, with Ilanit finishing fourth. Israel has achieved 4  victories, in 1978 and 1979, with first two wins for Izhar Cohen and the Alphabeta, with the song “A-Ba-Ni-Bi” and Gali Atari and Milk and Honey, with “Hallelujah” .  Its third victory came in 1998, with Dana International and “Diva”  and its fourth this year with Netta’s song Toy. The country’s best results apart from  its victories  were the second-place finishes for Avi Toledano in 1982 and Ofra Haza in 1983. Former winner Izhar Cohen returned to place fifth in 1985. Duo Datz finished third in 1991, before Israel achieved . Eden then finished fifth in 1999. Israel has hosted the contest twice, in 1979 and 1999, both times in Jerusalem

After the introduction of the semi-finals in 2004, Israel has failed to reach the final six times. In 2014, the country failed to qualify for the fourth consecutive year, when Mei Feingold finished 14th (out of 15) in the second semi final, despite being one of the favorites to qualify. In 2015, Israel reached the final for the first time in five years, with Nadav Guedj finishing ninth. The only Israeli entrant to achieve a better result in the 21st century before their 2018 win was Shiri Maimon in 2005, who gave the country its tenth top five result in the contest, finishing fourth

Lets remember Shiri’s perfromance back in 2005 :


Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.