Israel:The titles and composers of the Eurovision 2020 candidate songs unveiled

Israel:The titles and composers of the Eurovision 2020 candidate songs unveiled

The Israeli national broadcaster revealed today the titles and the composers of the songs that  the Israeli representative, Eden Alene, will  perform in the national final in order to select the Eurovision 2020, on March 3. 

The four song that will se Eden perform and from which one will be selected as Israel’s Eurovision 2020 entry are:

  • Roots (Natan GoshenStav Beger)
  • Feker libi (Doron MedalieIdan Raichel)
  • Savior in the Sound (Oren EmanuelTalia LondonerUri Avni)
  • Rakata (Gal Joe CohenEyal IshayZlil KalifiEran Kashi)

The Israeli broadcasteer had received a total of 248 submissions, from a which a jury of experts made up by,  Smadar ShafferTal ArgmanTali KatzYuval GanorTamira Jordan and Sivan Young, concuded in the final four songs.

Among the composers we see  Doron Medalie and Stav Berger, who were behind the Israeli ESC 2018 winning song , Toy. while  Doron Medalie has composed in the past two more Israeli ESC entries : το Golden Boy in 2015 and Made of Stars in 2016.

On March 3 the national final will determine which one out of these four songs will Eden Alene sing on stage in Rotterdam . The outcone will be determiend by public and jury voting.


Israel has participated in the Eurovision Song Contest 40 times since making its debut in 1973. Israel’s first appearance at the contest in 1973 was successful, with Ilanit finishing fourth. Israel has achieved 4  victories, in 1978 and 1979, with first two wins for Izhar Cohen and the Alphabeta, with the song “A-Ba-Ni-Bi”and Gali Atari and Milk and Honey, with “Hallelujah” .  Its third victory came in 1998, with Dana International and “Diva”  and its fourth this year with Netta’s song Toy. 

The country’s best results apart from  its victories  were the second-place finishes for Avi Toledano in 1982 and Ofra Haza in 1983. Former winner Izhar Cohen returned to place fifth in 1985. Duo Datz finished third in 1991, while Eden finished fifth in 1999. Israel has hosted the contest twice, in 1979 and 1999, both times in Jerusalem.

After the introduction of the semi-finals in 2004, Israel has failed to reach the final six times. In 2014, the country failed to qualify for the fourth consecutive year, when Mei Feingold finished 14th (out of 15) in the second semi final, despite being one of the favorites to qualify. In 2015, Israel reached the final for the first time in five years, with Nadav Guedj finishing ninth. The only Israeli entrant to achieve a better result in the 21st century before their 2018 win was Shiri Maimon in 2005, who gave the country its tenth top five result in the contest, finishing fourth. In 2018 Netta Brazilai brought the trophy home winning Eurovision 2018 in Lisbon with her song Toy.

Last year the host nation was represented by Kobi Marimi and his entry “Home” which finished 23rd in the Grand final.

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.