Italy: San Remo Giovani participants unveiled

Italy: San Remo Giovani participants unveiled

It seems as the day of revelations since after Melodifestivalen’s contestants in Sweden, the name of the young acts competing in  San Remo Giovani went public too .

The artisitc director of the festival Claudio Baglioni released the list with the finalists in the San Remo Giovani category, who will compete from 17  till 21 December . The two first winners of the shows on 20 and 2 December will have the right to compete in the San Remo festival with a new entry next February.

The final list consists of 18 acts that were selected by Music Committee which consisted of artistic director of the festival and deputy director in RAI1  Claudio Baglioni, producer Massimo Giuliano, director and author Massimo Martelli, TV director Duccio Forzano, and the internationally recognised music producer Geoff Westley. Another Six acts out of  24 were selected from the Area San Remo academy.

Therefore the final list of the 24 San Remo Giovani  entires developed as following:

  1. Federica Abbate – Finalmente
  2. Andrea Biagioni – Alba piena
  3. Cannella – Nei miei ricordi
  4. Laura Ciriaco – L’inizio
  5. Diego Conti – 3 gradi
  6. Cordio – La nostra vita
  7. Fosco17 – Dicembre
  8. La Rua – Alla mia età si vola
  9. La Zero – Nina è brava
  10. Le Ore – La mia felpa è come me
  11. Mahmood – Gioventù bruciataq
  12. Marte Marasco – Nella mia testa
  13. Giulia Mutti – Almeno tre
  14. Nyvinne – Io ti penso
  15. Einar Ortiz – Centomila volte
  16. Ros – Incendio
  17. Symo – Paura di amare
  18. Wepro – Stop/Replay
  19. Deschema – Cristallo
  20. Fedrix & Flaw – L’impresa
  21. Mescalina – Chiamami amore adesso
  22. Francesca Miola – Amarsi non serve
  23. Roberto Saita – Niwrad
  24. Sisma – Slow motion

Among the 24 names we meet female singer Federica Abate who was behind Italy’s Eurovision entry in 2016 while many acts are known from the Italian edition of X-Factor such as Mahmood, Andrea Biagioni, Ros .

The San Remo Giovani shows will be presented by  Pippo Baudo and Fabio Rovazzi. The two winning spots of the festival will be decided by a music committee by 40% , a TV jury assinged by RAI’s Director by 30% and televoting by 30%. The two winners will fill in two competing spots in the San Remo festival next February with a new entry and claim the right to represent Italy in Eurovision 2019. 


Italy has participated in the Eurovision Song Contest 44 times since making its debut at the first contest in 1956.  After a 14-year absence from 1998 and on, the country returned to the contest in 2011. Italy has won the contest twice  in 1964 with Gigliola Cinquetti and her song “Non ho l’età”.  Italy’s second victory in the contest came in 1990 with Toto Cutugno and the song “Insieme: 1992”.

Italy’s come back to the contest has proved to be very successful, the country having finished in the top ten in six times of the last seven contests (2011–2018), with Raphael Gualazzi second in 2011, Nina Zilli ninth in 2012, Marco Mengoni seventh in 2013 and Il Volo third in 2015, Francesco Ghabbani 6th in Kiev.

In this year’s Eurovision Song Contest the winners of Sanremo 2018 ,Ermal Meta and Fabrizio Moro, represented Italy in Eurovision in Lisbon with their song “Non mi avete fatto niente”. The Italian duo achieved an honorable 5th place in the Grand final with 308 points and a remarkable 3rd placing in the public voting.

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.