Junior Eurovision 2018: EBU sticks to last year’s online voting format; Stage construction underway

Junior Eurovision 2018: EBU sticks to last year’s online voting format; Stage construction underway

EBU has revealed details about the online voting that will determine with a 50% share this year’s Junior Eurovision winner.

The format will follow last year’s path where  fans  will be able to vote for their own country, while people internationally will be able to vote for their favourites, both for free. The online voting method will have two different rounds exactly like last year:

In the first round of voting, the voting window will be open on Friday 23rd and will stay open until Sunday 25th when the show starts, at 15.59 CET. People will have to watch a preview of all the 20 performances before entering the voting platform that will be available on the JESC official website. Then, they will be able to vote for 3, 4 or 5 of the competing countries.

The Second round of voting,  will begin once all the songs have been performed at the live final show, and will be open  for 15 minutes. Last year, the voting website crashed during this phase of the voting, making it imposibble for people to cast their votes after watching the full final performances.

The two rounds of votes will be added up and equal the 50% share of  the voting to decide the final outcome, while the other half will be decided by a professional jury panel, formed by adults and kids, in each country.

The Stage construction underway

The construction of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018 stage is underway  inside the Minsk Arena. As last years, the works are supervised by the Swedish Head of Production Ola Melzig, who will bring us updates from the arena.

 The stage of this year’s Junior Eurovision has been designed by Galina Gomonova. Galina studied at the Academy of Architecture in Belarus and she is a member of the Belarusian Union of Designers. She has also worked on the most popular TV shows in her country. The set design includes a 14-meter circular main stage and a smaller circular stage of 7 meters connected to the main stage by a 7-meter long bridge.

The Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be held on November 26 in Minsk , Belarus . A total of 20 countries will compete , with Wales and Kazakhstan making their debut in the contest. See the participating contries listed below:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • France
  • FYR Macedonia
  • Georgia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Kazakhstan
  • Malta
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • The Netherlands
  • Ukraine
  • Wales

Last year Russia won the contest with Polina Bogusevich and her song Wings:

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.