Junior Eurovision 2018: Today the deadline for broadcasters’ submission of participation

Junior Eurovision 2018: Today the deadline for broadcasters’ submission of participation

Today is the deadline for broadcasters to submit their application to participate in the upcoming Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018 next November in Minsk, Belarus.

According to the  European Broadcasting Union’s deadline today is the last day it will be accepting applications from broadcasters that intend to participate in the next edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest. The national Broadcasters must include in there application of interest an agreement that determines the fee they will be paying, the channel that will broadcast the show and the slot shown in .


In this year’s edition of JESC Wales will make its debut  participation after a long time of skepticism. The same time France will be back after 14 years , the one and only time the country had participated. Armenia too is another returning nation since 2014 .  After these development a total of 13 countries have confirmed their participation in this year’s competition . The countries confirmed to be in Minsk are the following  :

  • Armenia
  • Belarus
  • France
  • Georgia – Tamar Edilashvili has already been selected as representative
  • Ireland – Applications for National Selection in process
  • Italy
  • Malta – National selection will determine this year’s song
  • Netherlands –  Representative will be determined through the Junior Songfestival
  • Poland – National selection to be held October
  • Portugal
  • Russia – Anna Filipchuk will represent the country with the entry “Nepobedimy”
  • Serbia
  • Wales

Unfortunately Cyrpus after last year’s last place confirmed their withdrawal from the contest while 4 more counties excluded the option of returning These are  Bulgaria, Lithuania, Romania,and Switzerland. However there is another set of four countries that participated last year but haven’t made clear yet weather they will participate in Mink: Albania, Australia, FYR Macedonia, Ukraine.

The 2018 edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be held in Minsk, Belarus after the country won the bidding process before the 2017 contest even began.  Last year the winner of JESC 2017 in Tbilisi ,Georgia was Russia with Polina Bogusevich and her song Wings.


Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.