Latvia: Supernova 2020 acts and entries go public

Latvia: Supernova 2020 acts and entries go public

Latvia’s national broadcaster, LTV, released today the 26 acts and entries of the country’s national selection, Supernova, from which 8 will make it to the national final. 

The 26 acts and entries of Supernova 2020 are :

  1. Annemarija Moiseja – Undo
  2. Aivo Oskis – Dive Deep
  3. Miks Dukurs – I’m Falling For You
  4. Shanti – Voices In My Mind
  5. Maia – Make It Real
  6. Rūta Ķergalve – Izgaismots
  7. Toms Kalderauskis – Be My Truth
  8. Katrīna Bindere – I Will Break Your Heart
  9. Antra Stafecka & Atis Ieviņš – Coming Over
  10. Samanta Tīna – Still Breathing
  11. Madara – Māras zeme
  12. Elizabete Gaile – For You
  13. Sabīne Blūma Blūmane – Beauty Will Save The World
  14. DRIKSNA – Stay
  15. Līva – Not That Important To You
  16. Seleste – Like Me
  17. Signe & Jānis – Inner Light
  18. Alise Haijama – Me Me Song
  19. Edgars Kreilis – Tridymite
  20. ANNNA – Polyester
  21. Katrīna Dimanta – Heart Beats
  22. Alekss Silvers – Again
  23. Markus Riva – Impossible
  24. Laika Upe – All My Roads
  25. Audiokvartāls – Connection
  26. Bad Habits – Sail With You

Listen to the songs in the following video:

The oustanding names of Supernova 2020

Among the 26 candidate acts of this year’s Supernova are several that are no strangers to the Eurovision family. Namely,  Katrīna Dimanta, had represented Latvia in Eurovision 2014 as member of Aarzemnieki and the song “Cake to Bake” Markus Riva who has been taking part in the national selection since 2014 and  Samanta Tina who will make her 6th attempt.On the list is Miks Dukurs, five times participant in the national selection but has never reached the final, while Edgars Kreilis has taken part the last three years, finishing 6th in 2018 with the song “Younger Days”, and in 2019 with his entry “Cherry Absinthe”Madara had paricipated in  2018 with “Esamiba” finishing in 3rd place while Aivo Oskis, in last year’s national final with “Somebody’s Got My Lover” came last.  Alekss Silvers  with  “Fireworks” (written byAminata) and the group Laika Upe with the entry “Listen to the Way that I Breathe”, participated in last year’s selection.


Latvia joined the Eurovision family back  in 2000. The country on its debut participation, with Brainstorm finished in 3rd place with the song My Star. It didn’t take long for Latvia to win the contest, since in  2002, with Marie N’s I Wanna the Baltic country was crowned winner.

Latvia only participated in 2002 thanks to the withdrawal of Portugal from the contest, as Latvia’s poor result in 2001 had relegated them from the 2002 contest. From 2009 to 2014 Latvia met disappointing results as it failed to qualify to the Grand final. In 2015 achieved its best results the latest year with Animata and her Love Injected which ended in 6th place.  In 2018  the country was represented by Laura Rizzotto with her song Funny girl which finished 12th in the semi final failing to qualify to the final .

In 2019 Supernova winner Carousel represented the countey in Tel Aviv with their entry That night. The song didn’t make it to the final marking Latvia’s third successive failure to qualify to the final.

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.