Lithuania: LRT reveals the contestants of Pabandom iš naujo 2021

Lithuania: LRT reveals the contestants of  Pabandom iš naujo 2021

LRT, the Lithuanian national broadcaster has revealed the names of the acts that will be competing in the country’s national selection for Eurovision 2021.

With one more year LRT sticking with Pabandom iš naujo 2021 as the country’s national selection format for Eurovision 201, the broadcaster has released the names of acts that will take part in the upcoming national selection.

With the deadline for submissions having ended on December 14, a special LRT working group led by Gytis Oganauskas and Vytautas Bikus assessed the entries and came down to total of 23 acts that will compete for the right to represent Lithuania at Eurovision 2021 in Rotterdam next May.

Thus the acts that will take the stage in the upcoming national selection are:

  • Aistė Brokenleg
  • Aldegunda
  • Be U Group
  • Black Spikes with Indre Launikonyte
  • Donata Virbilaitė
  • Evelina Sašenko
  • Evita Cololo
  • Gabrielė Goštautaitė
  • Gabrielius Vagelis
  • Gebrasy (Audrius Petrauskas)
  • Gintarė Korsakaitė
  • Martyna Jezepčikaitė
  • Milita Daikerytė
  • Cosmic Bride (Natalja Chareckaja)
  • Norbertas/Norbė
  • Rapolas Meškauskas
  • The Roop
  • Thomas Tumosa
  • Titas ir Benas
  • Twosome
  • Sunday Afternoon (Vilija Matačiūnaitė)
  • UnoBand
  • Voldemaras Petersonas

Notable that among the contestants is the band The Roop who won last year’s national final and were set to represent the nation at Eurovision 2020, which was unfortunately cancelled. Now they return and aim to finish their imcomplete Eurovision journey in Rotterdam. Two more ESC representatives are on the list of participants. Namely,  Evelina Sašenkowho who represented the country in 2011 with her song “C’est ma vie”,  finishing 19th in the final and Vilija Matačiūnaitė the ESC 2014 representative with the entry Attention”, ( semi final non qualifier) ambition to make a comeback on the Eurovision stage.

The 2021 edition of Pabandom iš naujo 

Pabandom Iš Naujo 2021 will unfold over four shows, two qualfying rouds , one semi final and a grand final. The outcome of each show will be determined by a combination of public voting ( 50%) and jury voting (50%) that will be delivered by a five membered jury.

The national selection will begin of on January 16 with the first qualifying heat and reach its end on February 6 with the grand final show. This is how the Lithuanian national selection will take place the next two months:

  • 1st Qualifying heat : January 16
  • 2nd qualifying heatJanuary 23 
  • Semi final : January 30 
  • Final : February 6


Lithuania has debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest  in 1994 and since then has a total of  20 appearances. On its first participation,  Ovidijus Vyšniauskas finished last, receiving zero points. Lithuania withdrew from the contest and did not come back until 1999. LT United’s 6th place in 2006 with the song “We Are the Winners” is Lithuania’s best result in the contest. The country achieved one more top ten result in 2016, when Donny Montell finished 9th with “I’ve Been Waiting for This Night”.

In 2018 the country was represented by  Ieva Zasimaskaite with her emotional ballad song When We’re Old, which finished 12th in the grand final. In 2019 national final winner,  Jurij Veklenko defended the Lithuanian colors in Tel Aviv with the song Run With The Lions, but failed to qualify to the final left in the 11th place of the second semi final.

This year The Roop had won the national final with their song “On fire” but never made it to the Eurovision stage after the Eurovision 2020 cancellation due to the coronavirus outbreak.

  •  News Source/Image : LRT

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.