Lithuania: Tonight the first heat of Eurovizija 2019

Lithuania: Tonight the first heat of Eurovizija 2019

Lithuania begins tonight its quest for the next Eurovision representative, as the the first preliminary round of  Eurovizija 2019 will take place .

This year’s edition of Eurovizija will consist of 4 qualifying rounds, 2 semi finals and one grand final which is set to be held on February 23. Mid December the national broadcaster had revealed the 49 participations of this year’s national selection .

In tonight’s qualifying round a total of 12 acts will compete while last year’s Eurovision representative Ieva Zasimauskaite will appear on the show. The 12 contestants will be judged by a jury panel which will consist of Ramūnas ZilnysVytautas Bikus and  Jonas Nainys. In this evening’s heat the 12 acts that we will see competing are:

1.Matas Ligeika – “You came here to fly”
2. Simona Klušienė – “This day begin with love”
3. Filtered tools – “Survival”
4. Rūta Statkevičiūtė – “Paradox”
5. Šarūnas Mačiulis – “Traukinys” (Train)
6. Aldegunda – “I want your love”
7. Gabriela Ždanovičiūtė – “Home is in your heart”
8. Migloko – “Rožės” (Roses)
9. Twosome – “1000”
10. MaNNazz – “Blind Bird”
11. Gebrasy – “Acceptance”
12. Glossarium – “Anyone”

Hosts of the show will be Gabrielė Martirosianaitė and Giedrius Masalskis

The show begins at 20:00 CET and you can watch it on the official LRT website


Lithuania has participated in the Eurovision Song Contest  19 times since its debut in 1994, when Ovidijus Vyšniauskas finished last, receiving nul points. Lithuania withdrew from the contest, not returning until 1999. LT United’s sixth place in 2006 with the song “We Are the Winners” is Lithuania’s best result in the contest. The country reached the top ten for a second time in 2016, when Donny Montell finished ninth with “I’ve Been Waiting for This Night”.

This year the country was represented by  Ieva Zasimaskaite with her touching song When We’re Old, which finished 12th in the grand final.

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.