Montenegro: It’s D-Moll with “Heaven” to Eurovision 2019

Montenegro: It’s D-Moll with “Heaven” to Eurovision 2019

Montenegro has chosen its Eurovision 2019 entry as “Montevizija 2019”, the Montenegrin national final organised by RTCG, has just concluded. It is D-Moll with their entry “Heaven”  who will be flying the Montenegrin flag at the Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv.

Ivana Popović-Martinović, who finished in the 4th place (out of 5 entries) with her song “Poljupci” at last year’s edition of “Montevizija”, managed to get the second place in tonight’s “Montevizija 2019”. Not so successful was Eurovision 2009 representative Andrea Demirović, who failed to qualify for the Grand Final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2009 with her song “Just Get Out Of My Life” and attempted to represent her country for a second time this year. She failed to do so as she finished in the 3rd place. Also notable was the participation of  and Nina Petković: For the second consecutive year she finished last at the Montenegrin national final.

Five contestants in total were competing for the country’s representation in Tel Aviv:

  1. D-Moll – “Heaven”
  2. Andrea Demirović – “Ja sam ti san”
  3. Monika Knezović – “Nepogrješiva”
  4. Ivana Popović-Martinović – “Nevinost”
  5. Nina Petković – “Uzmi ili ostavi”

The winner was determined after two rounds of voting. In the first round the combination of votes from the public, a radio experts jury, a national jury of local artists and an international jury determined the two contestants to qualify to the second round of voting. The international jury consisted of Ruslana (winner of the Eurovision Song Contest 2004 for Ukraine), Eldar Gasimov (winner of the Eurovision Song Contest 2011 for Azerbaijan), Lea Sirk (Slovenia 2018), András Kállay-Saunders (Hungary 2014), Ira Losco (Malta 2002 and 2016) and Jovan Radomir (presenter at Swedish broadcaster SVT).


The results from the radio experts jury:


The results from the international jury:


The results from the national jury:


The results from the public and the overall results from the first round:


ROUND NO. 2 of Votes

The two entries that received the most votes in this first round of voting were:

     – D-Moll – “Heaven”


     – Ivana Popović-Martinović – “Nevinost”


In the second round, after the two Super Finalists performed their entry for a second time, the public solely decided who will represent the country in Eurovision 2019D-Moll received the most votes from the Montenegrin public and will therefore represent Monetengro in Tel Aviv with their entry “Heaven”.


Michael Vollmer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.