Norway: Tonight the Grand Final of Melodi Grand Prix 2020

Norway: Tonight the Grand Final of Melodi Grand Prix 2020

It took five semi final rounds, through which 5 finalists were determined to join the other 5 prequalified (by a jury) finalists in tonight’s grand final of Melodi Grand Prix 2020, that will determine Norway’s Eurovision 2020 act and entry.

The show this year moves to Trondeheim Spektrum in  Trondheim, and will be presented to us by Kåre Magnus Bergh, Ingrid Gjessing Linhave and Ronny Brede Aase.

The 10 contestants of the  MGP 2020 final are :

  1. Raylee – Wild
  2. Didrik & Emil – Out of Air
  3. Magnus Bokn – Over the Sea
  4. Akuvi – Som du er
  5. Kristin Husøy – Pray for Me
  6. Rein Alexander – One Last Time
  7. Tone Damli – Hurts Sometimes
  8. Sondrey – Take My Time
  9. Ulrikke Brandstorp – Attention
  10. Liza Vassilieva – I Am Gay

Among the contestants we meet acts that have made an attempt to represent the country in past national selections. Namely,  Raylee (MGP 2015),  Ulrikke Brandstorp (MGP 2017) and  Tone Damli (MGP 2009), who apart from MGP, has taken part in Melodifestivalen  2013 with  Erik Segerstedt, reaching the second chance round.  Among the finalists is the ESC 2010 representative  Didrik Solli-Tangen. Notable that behind  Magnus Bokn’s entry as composers of the song  Over The Sea is Alexander Rybak , ESC 2009 winner and ESC 2018 representative, and Joakim With Steen , aka JOWST , who represented Norway in 2017.


The final winner will be determined after three rounds of voting taking place online by the public. Once all performances are over, the first four acts with the most votes will qualify to the next round of voting. While a short recap of the 4 songs is demonstrated the online voting will select the two acts that will go in a last superfinal round. During the last round the two acts will have the chance to perform one last time their entries. The act with the mosts public votes wins the ticket to Rotterdam next May.

The MGP 2020 final will begin at 19:50 CET and you can watch it HERE.

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.