This afternoon RTP held in its studios the draw allocation for the semi finals of Festival da Canção 2019 , the format through which the country determines its Eurovision representative. 

Through a draw that was aired live on RTP’s official Facebook account the 16 composers and their songs were distributed in the two semi final rounds.  The semi final allocation has as following:

In the 1st semi final taking place on 16 February will be competing :

  • Calema
  • Conan OsirisD’Alva 
  • DAMA 
  • Filipe Keil 
  • Flak 
  • Lura
  • Tiago Machado

In the 2nd semi final taking place on 23 February  will be competing:

  • André Tentúgal
  • Frankie Chavez
  • Mariana Bragada
  • Miguel Guedes
  • NBC
  • Rui Maia
  • Saint Peter
  • Surma

The 16 composers were selected via three different procedures. 14 of them were selected directly by national broadcaster RTP. One song was chosen through the radio program  “Master Class”  on radio Antena 1, via the public submissions process.

In 2018 Portugal hosted the contest and was represented in home soil by  Cláudia Pascoal and the entry O Jardim which unfortunately finish in the last place of the final.

Source: ESC Portugal