San Marino: RTV reveals details on this year’s national selection.

San Marino: RTV reveals details on this year’s national selection.

It was last December when San Marino’s broadcaster, SMRTV , revealed the 11 contestants of the country’s national selection for Eurovision 2018. Today it was the country’s turn to elaborate on details of the national selection, dates, number of shows and the voting system that will determine the final winner.

According to last December’s announcement the national selection contestants are:

  • Emma Sandstrom (Finland)
  • Giovanni Montalbano (Italy)
  • Irol (San Marino)
  • Sara de Blue (Αustria)
  • Franklin Calleja (Μalta)
  • Judah Gavra (Ιsrael)
  • Jessika (Μalta)
  • Tinashe Makura (Zimbabwe)
  • Camilla North (Norway)
  • Sebastian Schmidt (Germany)
  • Jenifer Besky (Germany)

A total number of 3 shows will be held , all aired by the national broadcaster RTV and the 1in360 official Youtube channel.

The three shows will take place on the following dates :

  • 9 February 2018 8pm CET (1st show)
  • 16 February 2018 8pm CET (2nd show)
  • 3 March 2018 9pm CET (Final)

The first two shows will be taped while the grand final will be aired live from Bratislava. HERE you can find more information about tickets and accommodation.

A set of two songs has been written for each candidate. During the first two shows they will perform acoustic versions of their songs and the jury will evaluate them. On the 2nd show the jury will pick for each contestant one song, which they will perform in its final version in the grand final night.

The final winner will be determined by a combination of televoting and jury voting. The online voting will open on February 23 and will last until the final. The point system will be similar to that of Eurovision Song Contest (1-8, 10, 12 point)

In order to avoid double and multiplied sets of votes every set of votes will be connected with a Paypal account and will cost 1 euro. Televoting’s total percentage share of  the total points will depend on how many people will vote. So the percentage will develop as following:

  • Less than 50000 votes: 10%
  • 50000-100000 votes: 20%
  • 100000-200000 votes: 30%
  • 200000-250000 votes: 40%
  • More than 250000 votes: 50%


Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.