Serbia: RTS unveils Beovizija 2020 acts and song titles

Serbia: RTS unveils Beovizija 2020 acts and song titles

The Serbian national broadcaster, RTS, unveiled today the 24 competing entries of the country’s national selection for Eurovision 2020, Beovizija.

After a prolonged submission period and receiving 90 entries for Beovizija 2020, a special committee made up by RTS music editors concluded to 24 entries that will compete in this yesr’s national selection.  Beovizija 2020 will take place at the end of February and will consist of two semi finals and a final show.

Therefore the 24 competing acts of the Sebian national selection are:

1. Igor Simić – Ples za rastanak (Parting Dance)
music: Daniel Kajmakoski, Matej Đajkovski, Vladimir Danilović
lyricsι: Vladimir Danilović

2. Sanja Bogosavljević – Ne puštam (I won’t let go)
music: Sanja Bogosavljević
lyrics: Kristina Kovač

3. Rocher etno bend – Samo ti umeš to (Only you can do it)
music: Rastko Aksentijević
lyrics: Rastko Aksentijević

4. Neda Ukraden – Bomba (The Bomb)
music: Dušan Bačić, Dejan Nikolić
lyrics: Dušan Bačić

5. Marko Marković – Kolači (Cookies)
music: Vladimir Graić, Marko Marković
lyrics: Nemanja Filipović, Leontina Vukomanović

6. EJO – Trag (The Mark)
music: Stevan Milijanović
lyrics: Stevan Milijanović

7. Karizma – Ona me zna(She Knows me)
music: Dušan Janićijević, Dejan Jelisavčić
lyrics: Dejan Jelisavčić

8. Andrija Jo – Uvek (Always)
music: Jimmy Jansson, Palle Hammarlund
lyrics: Laurel Barker

9. Naiva – Baš baš (Really, really)
music: Žika Zana
lyrica: Jelena Zana

10. Bojana Mašković – Kao muzika (Like Music)
music: Goran Kovačić
lyrics: Bojana Mašković

11. Ivana Jordan – Vila(Fairy)
music: Ivana Jordan
lyrics: Ivana Jordan

12. Bane Mojićević – Svet sa Prokletija (The World From Prokletije)
music: Mirko Šenkovski Geronimo
lyrics: Mirko Šenkovski Geronimo

13. Ivan Kurtić ft. Geapsy Train – Sabajle (At Dawn)
music: Nikola Burovac
lyrics: Miloš Roganović

14. Hurricane – Hasta la Vista 
music: Nemanja Antonić
lyrics: Sanja Vučić

15. Milan Bujaković ft. Olivera Popović – Niti (Threads)
music: Petar Pupić
lyrics: Petar Pupić, Milan Bjelica, Luka Racić

16. Nenad Ćeranić – Veruj u sebe (Believe in yourself)
music: Alek Aleksov, Nenad Ćeranić
lyric: Alek Aleksov, Nenad Ćeranić

17. Bora Dugić i Balkubano – Svadba velika (Big Wedding)
music: Nikola Burovac, Danijel Đurić
lyrics: Nikola Burovac, Danijel Đurić

18. Ana Milenković – Tajna (Secret)
music: Dušan Bačić
lyrics: Dušan Bačić

19. Srđan Lazić – Duša i telo (Body and Soul)
music: Srđan Lazić
lyrics: Srđan Lazić, Dejan Ivanović

20. Lazar Živanović – Puklo je nebo( (The Sky Parted)
music: Michael James Day
lyrics: Adis Eminić

21. Milica Mišić – Kiša (Rain)
music: Sashka Janx
lyrics: Sashka Janx

22. Thea Devy – Sudnji dan (Judgement Day)
music: Pele Loriano, Beth Morris, Dom Scott
lyrics: Petar Spirić, Aleksandra Lazarević Spirić

23. Biljana Đurđević – Raj(Heaven)
music: Tina Amvon
lyrics: Tina Amvon

24. Aleksa Vučković – Samo mi kaži (Just tell me)
music: Dimitrije Borčanin, Aleksa Vučković
lyrics: Dimitrije Borčanin, Aleksa Vučković

The Eurovision Story so far

Serbia participated as an independent state in the contest in 2007, a year which the country was crowned winner with Marija Šerifović and her entry Molitva and remains the only country to win on its debut in the contest. (apart from Switzerland which won in the first edition of the contest back in 1956).

The country hosted the contest in 2008 and has a total of 11 participations and one year of absence (2014) It has achieved to qualify 7 times in the final while 3 times it didn’t make it for only one place  (10th in 2009, 11th in 2013 &  2017). Besides her victory Serbia has achieved 3 more times a top 10  placing (6th in 2008, 3rd in 2012, 10th in 2015).

Before its full independence Serbia participated twice as part of the Serbia- Montenegrin Federation (2nd in 2004 and 7th in 2005), while since 1961 until 1992 participated as part of the united then Yugoslavia. Six of these Yugoslavian entries came from the Serbian region. Yugoslavia had won the contest once, in 1989.

Last year the country was represented by Nevena Božović with her song “Kruna” .Nevena’s was no stranger to the Eurovision family as she had  previously participated in Junior Eurovision in 2007 and in Eurovision in 2013 with Moje 3. This year she came 18th in the grand final after securing Serbia’s second successive qualification to the final show. Lets remember her strong performance back on the Expo Tel Aviv stage:

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.