The final of Svensktoppen Nästa was held yesterday in Göteborg. Singer Michael Fannon was declared as the winner, but it was decided that Smajling Swedes will get a place among the 28 participants of Melodifestivalen 2016.


Svensktoppen Nästa is a Swedish radio contest meant to discover new musical talents. The winner normally walks away knowing his or her song will be looped on Radio P4 — and that they have an automatic berth in Melodifestivalen. But, in a surprise move, the jury has decided to send the three-piece group Smajling Swedes to Melfest over Michael. Apparently their song “Goosebumps” had the desired effect.

Smajling Swedes is a trio made of Arvid Ångtröm, Dennis Babic and Oscar Juhola. The three are working as DJs and music producers, so it’s not a surprise that their music is inspired by electronic feelings.

Listen to “Goosebumps” below