Spain: Alfred & Amaia win Eurovision Gala and will fly to Lisbon with their song “Tu cancion”.

Spain: Alfred & Amaia win Eurovision Gala and will fly to Lisbon with their song “Tu cancion”.

The Eurovision Gala, Spain’s national final, was  held tonight to determine the country’s next representative in the 63rd Eurovision Song Contest. The final was organized through the talent show  “Operacion Triunfo”  . The duo Alfred & Amaia won the national final with the song “Tu cancion” and will represent Spain in the upcoming Eurovision Song Contest in Lisbon next May.

The result was exclusively determined by the television audience with two rounds of voting. Initially, viewers voted to pick out their top 3 favorite entries out of a total of nine songs, while in the second round the public had to choose one of  the final  three entries. Host of the night was Roberto Leal .

The six participants with the nine songs were:

  1. Aitana – Arde (Alba Reig)
  2. Alfred – Que no sigan las luces (Nil Moliner)
  3. Amaia – Al cantar (Rozalén)
  4. Ana Guerra – El remedio (Nabal / Pedro Malaber / Mango)
  5. Miriam – Lejos de tu piel (Steve Robson / Ina Wroldsen / Diego Cantero)
  6. Aitana & Ana Guerra – Lo Mal (Morgan / Simms / Brisa Fenoy)
  7. Alfred & Amaia – Tu cancion (Raúl Gómez / Sylvia Santoro)
  8. Miriam & Agoney – Magia (David Otero / Diego Cantero / This Latorre)
  9. Aitana, Alfred, Amaia, Ana Guerra & Miriam – Camina (OT 2017 contestants / Manu Guix)



The three songs the public voted to move on the second round of voting were :

  • Aitana – Arde (Alba Reig)
  • Aitana & Ana Guerra –  Lo malo (Morgan / Simms / Brisa Fenoy)
  • Alfred & Amaia – Tu cancion (Raúl Gómez / Sylvia Santoro)

Eventually the public decided that the next Spanish representative will be the duo Alfred & Amaia with their entry Tu cancion .

Τhe song  Tu Cancion won the national final with a total  43%  share of the votes leaving behind  the other two entires  Arde and Lo malo  with a  31% και 26% share accordingly.  Tu cancion is the fourth entry selected for this year’s Eurovision Song contest and you can listen to it in the following video:

There was a special jury present during the show without voting rights but commented and expressed  its opinion on the nine entries performed on stage. The members of the jury were:

  • Luisa Sobral (composer of last year’s winning participation of Portugal)
  • Victor Escudero (
  • Manuel Martos (Artistic Director / Universal Music Spain)
  • Julia Varela (Eurovision commentator for Spain / TVE)

The show included special Guests that performed during the Eurovision Gala. Conchita Wurst performed her winning ESC 2014 entry Rise Like A Phoenix , Luisa Sobral , sister of last year’s Eurovision winner performed her song Cupido , J Balvin a medley of his own hits and  lastly appeared on the show, previous year’s representative  Manel Navarro.

The Spanish Final started at 22.35 CET local time and was aired live on TVE .


Spain participated for the first time in the contest in 1961 and has achieved two successive victories back in 1968 and 1969. The country is one of the BIG 5 which qualify automatically to the Grand Final . However the latest year’s something seems to be going wrong and the country has achieved a top 10 placing hardly a few times. Last year the Spanish representative was Manel Navarro with his song Do It For Your Lover which ended last in the Grand Final in Kiev.

Fotis Kourouvanis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.