Switzerland: SRF seeking 100 members for the national selection’s audience Jury

Switzerland: SRF seeking 100 members for the national selection’s audience Jury

As we have already informed you SRF this year has swtiched to a new national selection process for the Eurovision 2019 representative. According to these changes the national selection procedure will involve a total of two juries , a 100 member audience jury and an International Expert Jury to evaluate the candidate songs.

Therefore, the Swiss German language broadcaster SRF has opened the window for submission of applications, to find the 100 members for the audience panel. The panel which is open to Swiss citizens only, will contribute to determine the next Swiss Eurovision 2019 representative.

In collaboration with Digame and Simon & Kucher, who work on the voting at the Eurovision Song Contest, they have deployed a system based on an algorithm which takes in the responses to a series of questions in order to pick from the applicants.

Once the 100 members for the audience jury are determined , it will contribute to find the next act that will repesent the country alongside with the International Expert Jury, which will consist of 20 members , all former members of  national juries in previous Eurovision Contests.

From September 1 until October 1,   songwriters, producers, artists and songwriters are called to submit their songs which will not be revealed to the public at any stage of the process. After the deadline is over, the two juries will evaluate the songs from all Swiis briadcasters (SRF, RSI, RTS and RTR). However, each broadcaster has the right to issue a wildcard entry in the selection.

The final outcome of the national selecton will be determined by the public panel and International jury and the winner will be unveiled on a date the Swiss broadcaster will specify in the future.


Switzerland made its debut in the first  Eurovision Song Contest back in 1956 and won the same year with Lys Assia. It was not until 1988  when the country was crowned winner for the 2nd time with Celine Dion leaving in second place behind the United Kingdom only by a narrow margin of 1 point.

In this year’s contest the country chose duo Zibbz to represent it on the Altice Arena stage in Lisbon with their song Stones. In spite of their dynamic performance they didn’t avoid Switzerland’s 4th successive failure to qualify to the Final.

Source: SRF

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.