United Kingdom: Acts and Songs for “Eurovision: You Decide 2019” revealed

United Kingdom: Acts and Songs for “Eurovision: You Decide 2019” revealed

The BBC have revealed the six artists who will be competing in Eurovision: You Decide 2019, which will take place on Friday 8th February in Salford, Greater Manchester. Michael Rice, Holly Tandy, Jordan Clarke, MAID, Kerrie-Ann and Anisa will try to fly the UK flag in Tel Aviv.

Different than in previous years, only three songs are competing at Eurovision: You Decide 2019 as each song will be performed in two different versions and genres. After each so-called “song-off”, in which the same song will be performed by two different artists and in two versions, the judges will decide the act and version of the song that will make it to the final round.

In the final round of the show all 3 different songs will be battling for the ticket to Tel Aviv as the 3 chosen acts will perform their version of the song again. Public televote will decide which song and act will represent the United Kingdom at the Eurovision Song Contest 2019.

The six acts and the chosen 3 songs are:

Song-Off 1: “Bigger Than Us”

Michael Rice – “Bigger Than Us”
Michael Rice is the winner of the 2018 show “All Together Now” on BBC.

Holly Tandy – “Bigger Than Us”
Holly Tandy was a contestant at the live shows of “The X Factor UK” in 2017. She was eliminated at the quarter final stage.

songwriters: Laurell Barker (composer of Switzerland 2018 “Stones”), John Lundvik (Melodifestivalen 2018 and 2019), Anna-Klara Folin, Jonas Thander (composer of Lithuania 2016 “I’ve Been Waiting For This Night”, Taylor Swift “Shake It Off”)

Song-Off 2: “Freaks”

Jordan Clarke – “Freaks”
Jordan Clarke was a finalist at “Britain’s Got Talent” with his group “The Luminites” in 2013.

MAID – “Freaks”
MAID is a newcomer girl-group that is made up of Miracle, Kat and Blythe.

songwriters: Corey Sanders, Jon Maguire and Red Triangle (David Guetta, Take That, Charlie Puth)

Song-Off 3: “Sweet Lies”

Kerrie-Ann – “Sweet Lies”

Anisa – “Sweet Lies”
Anisa co-wrote the next single for Frans (Sweden 2016) and Ariana Grande’s “Piano”.

songwriters: Lise Cabble (Denmark Eurovision 2013 winner song “Only Teardrops”), Esben Svane (member of Denmark 2011 – A Friend In London), Maria Broberg

Eurovision: You Decide 2019 will take place on Friday 8th February in Salford, Greater Manchester, and will be broadcast live on BBC Two. Just as in previous years, the show will be hosted by Mans Zelmerlöw and Mel Giedroyc.

Michael Vollmer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.