United Kingdom: Changes to national final “Eurovision:You Decide” framework; Mel Giedroyc and Måns Zelmerlöw hosts of the show

United Kingdom: Changes to national final “Eurovision:You Decide” framework; Mel Giedroyc and Måns Zelmerlöw hosts of the show

The British national broadcaster, BBC  revealed that changes will be issued in the national final formula of Eurovision: You Decide 2019, the British national selection for the Eurovision Song Contest.

The upcoming Eurovision: You Decide is set to be held next February for the first time outside southenrn England. Specifically the national final will take place  in MediaCity UK in Salford in the northwest of England while for a second year in a row Mel Giedroyc and Måns Zelmerlöw  will be the show’s hosts.

Image result for Mel Giedroyc and Måns Zelmerlöw


In the 219 edition three songs will be performed  by six artists. Each song will be performed by two different artists. The two artists with the same song will battle in a sing-off performance. Once the three pairs of acts complete their sing-offs the three remaining acts with their songs will face a second round of voting  which will determine the final winner and the next British representative in Eurovision 2019.


Commenting on the changes issued in the national selection formula, Mel Balac, Creative Director for Entertainment BBC Studios and Executive Producer of Eurovision: You Decide stated:

“This year the three songs presented to the United Kingdom have been selected with the help of an international jury. Our exciting “euro-version” format will give fans the chance to compare and contrast these fantastic songs in a fresh, new way and deliver the United Kingdom the artist it deserves to fly the flag out in Tel Aviv in May.”

On the other hand Kate Phillips, Controller of Entertainment Commissioning at the BBC commented on this year’s formula:

“Forget about a sing-off, next year it’s all about the song-off as we once again try to marry a great singer with a great song, one which could finally get us on the left hand side of the leader board. We may be leaving the EU but we are still determined to win Eurovision again one day!”

Ken Bruce, BBC Radio 2’s Eurovision commentator, will be broadcasting from Salford on the morning of the event. The guest performers will also be announced soon.


The UK followed the same formula of national selection in 2016 to select Joe and Jake finsished 24th. In  2017 through the same process Lucie Jones was decided to represent the UK ending in the final 15th while this year  You Decide 2018 winner, SuRie finished in the 24th place in the grand final.


The United Kingdom participated in the Eurovision Song Contest for the first time in 1957 and has been crowned winner five times (1967, 1969, 1975, 1981, 1997). The UK holds the record of finishing in the 2nd place the most times than every other country in the contest, specifically 15 times. Although big names of the music scene have represented the country in the past ( Sandie Shaw, Olivia Newton John, Lulu, Buckz Fizz, Brotherhod of Man, Cliff Richard, Clodagh Rogers, Mary Hopkin, Michael Ball, Sonia, Gina G, Bonny Tyler) in the latest years its results are rather disappointing for a country with such a big share in the international music industry.

Stay tuned on the INFE Network and its regional national sites for more updates and news for your favorite music song contest as national selection period unfolds.

Angelo D.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.